Leader-and-Ender Flowers

People on the Leader/Ender linky  haven’t heard from me for a while. Not because I haven’t been happily stitching squares and triangles together, but because I didn’t have a project for them.

Here’s proof of labor.

L-E squares and triangles

Raw pieces on the left and stitched on the right.  The squares are at a stand still because I am out of light ones and I don’t know whether the pairs I have made will become 4- or 9- patch blocks, so they await a plan. The triangles are mostly bonus triangles from making flying geese. There are more tucked away far under some other boxed projects. One day I’ll dig deep then look them over and see what I can make.

Meanwhile, there is this inspiration from Quilting is More Fun Than Housework. My problem is that my second color is not always the same, so whether I can work that out into a similar top remains to be seen.

Now, about the flowers. I have been quilting on Skyline (top here) and have two more tops planned from the “Utopia” fabric. The current top doesn’t make use of the flowers in the print, but one of the three planned quilts will. Here is a detail of the fabric.

L-E flower print

And here is the block it inspired.

Flower block

9 x 9

I will admit to having seen the block idea somewhere, but I have no clue where. The quilt will be mostly improv, but I will include several of these flowers somehow. The boring triangles are a perfect thing for leaders and enders while working on other projects. And yes, the small cut-aways will become leaders and enders for a someday mini. I might even be able to work some of the improv Floating Squares (Sherri Lynn Wood, Improv Handbook for Modern Quilters) in as leaders and enders. So the relevant pieces are in the drawer above the squares and triangles.

L-E set up

How do you like that set up? Having that four-drawer on my right has really improved my Leader/Ender production line.  A place for raw material, a place for sewn pieces, top drawer. Second drawer is storage for pieces in waiting–and eventually I’ll gather all in one place, which will be another improvement. The bottom two drawers are deeper and also good for other storage. And wheels so the drawers can be handy when sewing and otherwise out of the way.

Linking up with A Quilting Chick’s Leader and Ender Challenge.

6 Comments

Filed under quilting

6 responses to “Leader-and-Ender Flowers

  1. I love the idea of the 4 drawer system for leader/ender projects. A great way to keep them organized. And anything that helps you use leaders/enders is a good thing to me. Thanks for linking up!

  2. I don’t work with leaders and enders, but like you, I have a system for managing scraps that have potential; they all go either into my ‘postage stamp’ box if they’ll make a 2″ square, or into my ‘eventually it’ll be a fabric coil basket’ box if they’re a long skinny strip. If it’s too small for either of those, sadly, it’s into the bin.

  3. dezertsuz

    Yes, I was going to remark on the storage unit you are using. That’s a great idea. I have one that’s 3 drawers all the same size, but I think I like this better, maybe. I also like the flower-inspired block. It does look familiar to me, too, but I couldn’t tell you what it is!

  4. I haven’t tried leaders and enders. Yet. I can see, though, how a storage system like that would really help make the process work well. I’m intrigued by your Utopia fabric and what you’ve done with it. I can’t wait to see the Skyline quilt quilted and I’m looking forward to seeing what you do with the flowers,

  5. Cher

    great system for keeping things straight for leaders/enders…and great progress on your ideas!

  6. Hmm…think maybe I need to organize my leaders/Enders like yours. Thanks for the idea!

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

