City Fabric

I love this fabric:

city fabric

Utopia/Frances Newcombe/Art Gallery Fabrics

I looked at it longingly, then resisted. However, for Christmas I got a gift certificate, so I indulged. I brought it home to see how many solids I had already that would work with it–then I will shop some more to fill in the gaps.

The trouble is I don’t think it was intended to be cut up.The flow of the repetitions, the modulations of the landscape from the red detailed city to the blue silhouetted and gray silhouetted skylines, to the outlines. Moving the other way, the aqua alternating with the green and yellow and the outlines.

I am not usually one who has difficulty  cutting up fabric. But I am studying this one to see what shapes will retain that flow.  Not a big center with borders. That seems too easy. Besides, while it is out for study, I can read a book and glance up occasionally and see if a new idea has surfaced. Pondering and procrastinating are kinda related.

I’m leaning toward improv using Sherri Lynn Wood’s Improv Handbook for Modern Quilters (review here–I have reread and bought the book since that review), but which “score”?

I’ll link with Molli Sparkles Sunday Stash and will go see what others have found.

ETA: First quilt finished from fabric

 

9 Comments

Filed under design, quilting, Uncategorized

9 responses to “City Fabric

  1. If you’d like a pattern, Maple Island Quilts has some nice ones I’ve used for prints I didn’t want to cut up too much.

  2. How about a design that incorporates large squares of this lovely fabric with smaller 9-patch blocks in co-ordinating colours. For myself, I’d use it for a backing, in one piece so I didn’t have to cut it!

  3. Cher

    an idea will come to you beyond the obvious, which I agree with above, using a large square or rectangle . or..how about a long say 10 or 12 inch vertical cut, the length of the quilt , next “strip” the colors that you to use with it in whatever shapes…and so on across to the width of the quilt you want…improv! will enjoy seeing what you decide to do!

  4. I would be tempted, like katechiconi, to use it as a backing, but I think the challenge of figuring out how to piece it in a quilt top is going to be really fun. 🙂

  5. Great colors in the print! I think your improv idea is a good one!

  6. I wonder if you could somehow create a windowpane effect, so the fabric appears whole and seen from through a window?

  7. dezertsuz

    I’m sure you will come up with something wonderful. EQuilter has some good free patterns using panels and large prints, so that might spark some ideas, if you don’t already have one you just love. Modern quilting has a lot of large open background spaces, if you wanted to go that way, too. Some good suggestions were made here, but I think you will find your own Claire-voyance will give you a solution that suits you perfectly.

  8. Great ideas in the comments! And I love your comment that pondering and procrastination are related. Let’s add “inspiration” to get the perfect tri-fecta of thought. 🙂

  9. dawn at firstlightdesigns

    Oh, I see why you are conflicted about cutting into that gorgeous fabric! But I know you will think of something wonderful.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

