Friday Night Sew In (FNSI) and Leaders and Enders’ Demise

It happened. The Leaders and Enders became their own project (almost). Somehow anything larger than a 2-inch seam feels too long to do between steps of a different project. So it became my Friday Night Sew In project for the first time that I joined it. Mostly it takes remembering.

I said “almost” because there are 32 blocks-in-progress that need rectangle pieces, the 1-inch squares sewn to the 1x 3 rectangles. They have to be made yet. So that is 64 leaders and enders till I put a square on each end. They are cut and ready to go. Only one got sewn tonight–chain piecing doesn’t pile up the L and E pieces very quickly.

Three-side pile

32 of these need the fourth rectangle

So these 32 will be in process yet a while. No work on them tonight. Meanwhile, these got their fourth side sewn.

4 sides

17 of these

And pressed.  I pinned them last night.  Since random isn’t my thing, I did some playing with combinations. I’d wanted all four neutrals to be different; however, there are a couple where I decided the corner color mattered more. I have a range of very old fabric from my great aunt’s scrap bag and some very new and modern. I think in the total product, the mix will work.

And some got a pair of triangles.

With two triangles

12 of these

I need to cut more triangles before I continue with these.

Tomorrow you can check out what others accomplished on FNSI and maybe next month you can play too. And If I don’t work any more on this project, I’ll link with Leaders and Enders next week, and on Sunday I’ll link with Oh Scrap! (Buttons for the last two in the sidebar.)

Here is the source of the block and what mine may look like when the blocks grow up–and a tutorial. Here is the first time I linked with Leaders and Enders, and here is a second link up with the same project. I have made some progress, slow though it be.

16 Comments

Filed under quilting

16 responses to “Friday Night Sew In (FNSI) and Leaders and Enders’ Demise

  1. Those are looking really good. I thought I recognized the pattern. I made it as Twin-Twins (two matching twin size quilts) for a guest bedroom at my parent’s house. Every time I am there I have to peek in and smile. This makes me want to do another one…

  2. Those look gorgeous! Such a fun block.
    (Covering my eyes now and chanting ‘don’t need another project, don’t need another project…)

  3. This is going to be a great quilt, what a great mix of scraps going into it! I enjoy my leaders and enders too, and find it exciting when they take over and become their own project 🙂

  4. I know Susan, who is the design source for your leaders and enders blocks. Do you know her too? I always feel so derelict not using L and E when sewing, as mostly I just use a tiny scrap then throw it away when it is full of thread. I think this is an idea that you have to plan ahead on in some way, to commit to doing, and I’m never that organized (it feels like). Your blocks are looking mighty fine!

  5. Scrappies are my favourite and this one looks like it is going to be very pretty when finished.

  6. Cher

    I am in the same mind set as Elizabeth right now…too much going on to do a L and E -though back when Bonnie shared the concept I did lots.

    Your blocks look great..I like adding the triangles too.

    enjoy as it evolves…

  7. Heather

    Great work so far and it looks like it’s going to be just gorgeous.

  8. Kat

    Looking great! I love those little scraps.

  9. What fun blocks! Look forward to seeing it come together. Thanks so much for sharing it with Oh Scrap!

  10. Love your scrappy mix of fabrics, it’s going to look great! I checked out the link too, thanx!

  11. Loving the way your Scrappy blocks are coming together….

  12. What a brilliant project, love the scrappiness and thriftiness of this, hmm I can see this becoming a new project in my home!

  13. Those scrappy blocks look gorgeous set in the floral triangles Claire! I have not yet succeeded in doing an effective job with leaders and enders. It takes some organization and patience, but wow look what you have there!

  14. I love your leader/ender project! The white in the blocks really brings all that scrappy goodness together. Thanks for linking up!

  15. Sugarlane Designs

    I think you did great……what a great use of all your scrappys! Thanks for joining in FNSI this month…..looking forward to stitching with you next month too! xox Sugary hugs :o)

  16. dezertsuz

    This looks great, though, and the squares on rectangles is definitely an easy leader-ender. I find I get to the point where I am too excited to see the leader-ender come to fruition, and off it goes to become a prime project. There’s always something to take its place, though. =) And beepies last on the list forever!

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

