Leaders and Enders Update

Time to see where I am with the 50+ starter blocks shown here.  I have pressed what then was sewn (the 9-patch to two of the rectangles) and needed pressed.

Pressed

And I have sewn a bunch of 1 1/2-inch squares to 1 1/2- x 3 1/2-inch rectangles to get ready to add to the other two sides of the 9-patch.

Sashing sewn

It looks like a fairly big pile. I don’t think I cut more rectangles than I can use, but it seemed good to press and check. I counted 45 as I pressed them and sorted them into dark, medium and  bright.

Pressed

Actually I was living dangerously, attaching squares without a 9-patch to mate with it.  For the most part, I chose two that had some detail in common. Occasionally it was a color relationship, like opposites. And I tried to avoid repeating a neutral in the four sashings on a single block. Because I don’t like to do random, I took the time to choose which 9- patch to mate with which sashing+square and pin them.

Assembled one sideAgain, I chose a piece with squares that somehow related to the 9-patch, usually echoing a color in one or two of the patches, but sometimes a bright because a 9-patch was dull or a dark pair for a 9-patch that was made up of light squares.

As big as that pile looked, it didn’t finish the job. These eight remained.  These have some rather dark neutrals–I doubt I’ll rip them out. But they do require more careful combining.

8 awaiting sashing

They will probably get custom selected cornerstones. The goal is for all to look like this:

3 partially finished

And then to cut  triangles from 4 1/2-inch squares to add to set them on point. There are lots of leader-ender opportunities in this project. On the one hand it is nice to have a long, ongoing project; on the other hand, I may get impatient and just finish it up someday. After a few other projects are finished.

The blocks will be 7 x 7 finished. No harm in starting to sketch settings.

Linking with Leader and Ender Tuesday and Oh Scrap. Buttons to the right in the sidebar.

7 Comments

Filed under quilting

7 responses to “Leaders and Enders Update

  1. Cher

    great progress…it can be challenging when a leader/ender project reaches a certain point/size to not just go for finishing it up…

  2. dezertsuz

    It’s okay if it moves from leader-ender to actual project. Something else will be the leader-ender then. =) A fun scrappy project. I don’t think I would have put as much thought into matching as you did, but there was a time when I couldn’t imagine even doing scrappy!

  3. Hi!!!! It is looking pretty already!!!!! I haven’t tried a leader and ender project yet but thinking I might give it a try!!!! Thank You

  4. You’re making wonderful progress! I love this idea for a leader/ender project. Thanks for linking up!

  5. That’s a nice leaders and enders project. I know what you mean by getting impatient to finish though.

  6. It looks like a really nice pattern and a great leader-ender project. I’m looking forward to seeing it finished, but no reason not to take a break. Do you need time to collect more scraps? 🙂

  7. Wonderful progress, I really like the blocks you’ve made for this project so far. I’m always afraid of true scrappy unplanned projects.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

