Boys in the Boat–A Good Read

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin OlympicsThe Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics by Daniel James Brown

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

One of the most amazing things about this book was that in spite of knowing the ending, it was suspenseful through and through. The second amazing thing is that it explained rowing to someone who had no clue (me) and little interest in sports in such a way that it was clear but not too much.

The story of the road to the Olympics is told mostly from the perspective of Joe Rantz; however, as he requested, it is told in the context of “the boat”–more than the shell that they propelled with oars, “the boat” is the spirit of the team working together in perfect harmony. The physical boat too is a character, and Pocock, its maker, stands out as one filled with wisdom about people as well as rowing and boat building.

The story is told in the context of the Depression, the Dust Bowl, and the drums of encroaching World War II. Joe’s surmounting of personal struggles as well as economic is admirable.

View all my reviews

3 Comments

Filed under books

3 responses to “Boys in the Boat–A Good Read

  1. Cher

    great review Claire! I will put this on my list to read at some point..thanks for always doing such a thoughtful post on books you have read.

  2. dezertsuz

    Thanks. That makes this sound like an interesting read. I’ll look in my library for it.

  3. quilt32

    I’ll add this to my list. I know nothing about rowing, but I’m always interested in that era.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

