Pizza Party–round robin quilting

My local quilt guild has a chairwoman who is always looking for new ways to promote charity quilting. Recently the committee came up with an idea that is fun and requires little effort.

mushroom pizza

mushroom pizza--step 2

Our guild has partnered with another guild to do Pizza Party.  Raw materials and instructions are placed in a pizza box. The boxes are labeled with various flavors of pizza; mine was labeled “mushroom.”  I got Step 2, which was “cut 2 1/2 inches carefully.”  And so (almost last minute) the task is completed.  Tonight I will take the pizza box to guild and the chairwoman will insert the third step and get more volunteers. I think we have six boxes/”flavors.”  I don’t know how much the other guild did before sending the materials to us. I’m guessing they cut the strips. I don’t know how many steps are involved for us. But when the blocks are completed, they will be sent back to the originating guild to make tops and finish.

It is a good way to get people involved who don’t have time to make whole quilts.  It also saves time by taking the planning work out of the project.

If we get photos of the finished products, I’ll share.

Leave a comment

Filed under quilting

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

