Three Finishes, Two New and One Old

Last week I blogged about the finished Fading Charms quilt, but photography at midnight is not ideal. And it took a couple days for the sun to shine in the daytime. But today the sun was in and out of the clouds. Sometimes back in by the time the camera actually clicked. That time lag in electronic cameras can be tricky. So here it is.

Fading Charms

38 x 56

 

And some quilting detail.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And of course, I experimented on the busy squares so that the quilting wouldn’t show. Now I want to show it. The back gives you a glimpse.

And in case you want to make one too, here is a link to the tutorial. The tutorial is for 2 1/2-inch squares; I just happened to have two or three boxes of Keepsake Fabric samples that I wanted to find a use for. It started as a Leaders-and-Enders project as I attached pairs of 1 1/2 inch squares. Then an online group that meets F2F once a year decided we should all bring a Fading Charms top to the “Swarm.” So I had to move a little faster, and it became the primary project. This one is destined for Quilts Beyond Borders.

Now two finishes this week would be much more impressive if they hadn’t already been all finished but binding. Between other projects taking front stage and my forgetting to buy blue thread, these have been languishing. The oldest first.

Sesame Street Quilt

40 x 39

The three rows of “crumb” blocks date way back. An online friend offered a box of 6 1/2 x 6 1/2 crumbs, and I accepted. The box had 300 blocks. This was around 2007 or 2008. I used up all but the brights. At that time my stash did’t have many brights–how times and  my taste have changed. After I acquired the needed brights and assembled the top, it waited for me to be ready to do FMQ. That was about two years ago. Finally it is finished and ready to become a Linus quilt.

It has been eight months since this next one was quilted (Link here); the round robin was started in May of 2012 .

Round Robin front

41 x 41

 

I really had fun experimenting with the quilting, especially this motif from Leah Day’s collection of 400+ filler designs:

quilting detail

 

And a top one inch wider than width of fabric pushed me into pieced back terrain.

Pieced back

This one is destined for Wrap a Smile.

I’ll be linking up with  Let’s Bee Social , TGIFF , LAFF and Fresh Sewing Day.

1/16/15 Linking with Free Motion Mavericks because I didn’t find it earlier.

 

11 Comments

Filed under quilting

11 responses to “Three Finishes, Two New and One Old

  1. sdaurio

    Great way to finish the year! Love them all but that postage stamp is really awesome. I’ve got boxes full of 2.5 in squares, may give this one a try, thanks for the tutorial! Happy New Year!

  2. quilt32

    I especially like the Linus quilt. I continue to be impressed with your quilting.

  3. dezertsuz

    All very impressive! Did you send that photo to Deanna? She’ll love seeing it, I know.

  4. Hurray for three finishes! Right in time to close out the year too!

  5. Such a gorgeous way to finish the year! Looking forward to seeing what is to come in 2015! Happy New Year!

  6. Cher

    all wonderful quilts all great use of scraps and really nice quilting!

  7. Wonderful quilts and who doesn’t love a great finish?!

  8. Way to go! I totally adore the Sesame Street fabric combined with those crumb blocks. 😀

  9. Wow that’s a lot of work! Congrats on all those finishes and thanks for linking up with TGIFF 🙂

  10. Hello Claire,

    What gorgeous quilts! I especially love the blue star quilt. Great quilting too!

    Thank you for linking up with Free Motion Mavericks.

    Love, Muv

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.