Mystery quilt will remain a mystery

The Scottie Dog Mystery Quilt Retreat, set in the gorgeous historic Eureka Inn, has come and gone.

I heard a bit of the history. As with many grand old buildings, it had its period of neglect. Once purchased for renewal, the project failed when the developer went bankrupt.  More neglect until the current developer’s purchase and plan.  This one wisely remodeled it a few rooms at a time, renting them, then remodeling a few more. The public spaces retain the old charm mingled with modern comfort.

You might think we would spend more time in a lounge like this! But if you did, you wouldn’t know quilters. Our focus was on sewing.  Some worked much faster than others–at least two almost finished the center portion of their mystery quilts.  Most made 4-6 of the blocks, and then some slower ones, like me, made one block to be sure we had the directions firmly in our minds, and moved on to other projects.

I am already planning how to enlarge a wall hanging into a twin sized quilt other than by simply adding a border. But first I have two knitting projects to be completed, and they have deadlines.

Photos of the beginnings will be delayed; the design can’t be posted until after the pattern is published. So check back sometime after September. Meanwhile, some more photos of the lovely building.

  I can almost remember styles like this on my mother from the late thirties, early forties. And we had a lamp somewhat similar to this one, but less ornate.

And you know I cannot resist an unusual flower (maybe common to California, but new to me).

3 Comments

Filed under quilting, travel

3 responses to “Mystery quilt will remain a mystery

  1. Darlene

    I think we have that flower in our flower bed, it looks very familiar. Darn, I hope I didn’t add disillusionment to the mix!

    • Not disillusioned that easily; “familiar” to me still references Indiana. I have seen white flowers like that here, but not on a bush with red leaves. (I have seen hedges with red leaves, but no flowers.)

  2. BrendaLou Scott

    Hi claire, it was so wonderful to have you come to our retreat! You nicely caught the Eureka Inn. The shrub you pictured is Pieris, a Japanese shrub, sometimes called Flame of the Forest. In Spring the new leave are bright red or yellow/orange and the tiny lilly of the valley-like flowers appear. As Summer begins the red turns green. I have several of these in my garden. They and the rhododendrons & azaleas grow under the redwoods.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

