Toy and Joy

Some deadlines work for me–real ones. I’ve tried making fake deadlines to convince myself to work ahead. It is no use because myself knows better. Somewhere in October I had three of those self-made deadlines. Then I convinced myself that the coupon for a small discount on long arm quilting wasn’t enough to make me say, No, to events I wanted to attend. I convinced myself that the project with a real due date of January 31 had plenty of time. And I didn’t finish the Toy and Joy quilts in time to get them to last month’s meeting just in case the weather was bad this month. Luckily the weather is fine.

The meeting is tonight and the last baby quilt is now quilted. Five hours ahead of time.

Back in August, you saw most of the tops here. And earlier, the story of most of the blocks here.  There was a joke in one of my Indiana quilt guilds that a quilt could be shown at show-n-tell seven times. The history of the “rule” was that one member had actually shown seven stages of one quilt–that was before my time, so I didn’t get to see it. Thus, ~3 posts is showing restraint.

The first three are from the guild’s block of the month last year–I won three times. Only two (red-blue-gold, totally scrappy) made it to Toy and Joy quilts. The third (pink) is awaiting quilting.

The pastel block wasn’t bright enough to go with the other ‘totally scrappy’ blocks, so it became a doll quilt all by itself. (The doll quilt is about 20 x 20, the infant quilts 36 x 36.)

The doll quilt back was made from minkie scraps.

tj-doll-back

Yep, that stuff stretches.

And I had to extend one of the three other backs.

tj-infant-back

Silly me, I’d bought 3 yards of flannel for 3 36-inch tops. Then prewashed the flannel. Lesson learned. At least I had that cream strip to finish the third one off.

I did a big meander on all the quilts–the batting required quilting only every 8 inches.

tj-red-blue-gold-detail

Although plan A is to practice FMQ on charity quilts, sometimes quilts just need to be finished. So I don’t really call meandering practice. However, I am getting better at starting and stopping without a zig zag in the line, and my stitch is getting more even, so it isn’t wasted on the practice front.

The other quilt comes from Lotto blocks that I’ve won in the past. I love that heart block; however, it created an interesting design issue.

tj-heart-horizontal

When I planned it, I had it laid out horizontally. However the heart looks better on point.

tj-heart-on-point

Had I been thinking ahead, I’d have made the tans parallel and the blues parallel for this orientation. Lesson learned. Think of the final orientation when designing.

11 pm, ETA: At guild tonight it was announced that our year’s contribution to Toy and Joy is 1889 doll and infant quilts.

I will be linking with Oh Scrap! and Let’s Make Baby Quilts (buttons in sidebar) and Scrap Happy; welcome visitors.

Shall I read a book or get to one of those other two projects?

6 Comments

Filed under quilting

6 responses to “Toy and Joy

  1. Cher

    I do love that heart block too..! great job on the quilting…

  2. Oh you gave me a great idea! I have a friend who is in love with Minky (I think she would own stock in it, ha!) and she keeps giving me her Minky scraps. Being the scrap-hoarder I secretly am, I have been building up a stash of Minky scraps. Thanks for the idea! I could also eventually make a baby blanket (but I do not have enough yet…but I am sure there are more coming my way!) 🙂

  3. Ah yes, that minkie back looks familiar. I’ve had mixed results with it and, frustratingly, can’t recall what I did that worked the one time! Probably should just Google it…Happy holidays!

  4. dezertsuz

    What a great number of donations! You certainly did your part. The heart quilt looks good either way. I’m not a minky fan, just because of the nature of the fabric. And it kinda feels icky to me. LOL

  5. Regarding deadlines: One year into retirement, I still impose them on myself, in order not to completely devolve into a tired lump of inertia. However, I don’t beat myself up if I don’t meet a deadline, because life often intervenes with other priorities.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

