Another Start–The Ocean Quilt

Perhaps the title should read, Another Shift in Priorities.  December suddenly seems close and I have two projects due then. So all other pieces in progress move to the back burner.

The ocean quilt has been planned for a long time, in general concept: Work the traditional ocean-wave block into it. A diagonal line. Tans to one side for beach. Blues to the other for water. It is the details that have not gelled. Should the shapes be square, diamond, or triangle? Should they be the same size or variable? Then along came curved strips, and I was ready to begin.

The traditional ocean-wave block looks like this.

ocean-waves-quilt-block

And it is usually set in an all over pattern. Here is a link to Kat and Cat’s quilt so you can see the overall traditional look. Some day I may try that, but not for this quilt.

My first step was to gather many blue fabrics; now that is one of my favorite parts of planning. The other day I got them out and arranged them dark to light.

blue-fabrics

Some of these are fat quarters, which went well when I was thinking small pieces. I may have to get creative now that I want longer, wider strips.

Now come some less interesting steps, like cutting squares and sewing half-square triangles (HSTs).

480-squares

Here are 480 2-inch squares, patiently waiting. I did avoid drawing the diagonal lines with the Clearly Perfect Angle tool from New Leaf Stitches.

perfect-angle-tool

I think it was meant for modern machines that are mostly in white cases, but I can see the three places to align the squares. (It is set up so you can either sew with a 1/4 seam allowance as I am here or directly from point to point.)

But I don’t know any way to avoid pressing and trimming. Since those steps are not very photogenic, there will be a pause until I have something interesting to show you. Meanwhile, linking up with Kelly’s Needle and Thread Thursday.

11 Comments

Filed under quilting

11 responses to “Another Start–The Ocean Quilt

  1. I know! Remember when Dec was so far away? Wasn’t it just May?!?! Oh that ocean waves quilt is going to be yummy in those colors – loved seeing your color palette. Enjoy your HSTs party 🙂

  2. Gorgeous range of blues, I’m really looking forward to seeing more!

  3. That’s a lot of HSTs. Your fabric choices are gorgeous! It’s going to be a spectacular quit.

  4. Cher

    choosing fabrics is always the most fun…I have a similar tool as yours for sewing up hst’s…glad you are finding it so helpful!
    looking forward to the next interesting photo 🙂

  5. I can see the ocean waves vision. The fabric you have selected for this will be fabulous!

  6. dezertsuz

    I LOVE your blues! This will be gorgeous, I know it. I can’t believe you’re making them with 2″ squares, though. That makes a 1″ HST? Tiny! Thousands of them! LOL

  7. I am a huge fan of Ocean Wave quilts, but find I am intimidated by all those tiny triangles. I applaud your vision and look forward to seeing how this turns out. I am sure it will be beautiful!

  8. I’m intrigued. I made one Ocean Waves block many years ago when I was inexperienced. It was on a sample vest for a store, and I bluffed my way through. I never made another even though I love the look. Can’t wait to see how it inspired you.

  9. Woo! That’s a lot of triangles! Have fun!

  10. I’m looking forward to seeing what you do with your twist on ocean waves. (That’s a quilt that’s been on my horizon for a while. Someday I’ll get to it…)

  11. I wonder what your next steps will be and how your quilt will look with “curved strips” along with your triangles. Your blues all together will look like the ocean at its most shallow, its depths, and all the blues in between.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

