What’s the Worst that Would Happen …?

I always find it helpful to be reminded to keep fear in perspective!

Catbird Quilt Studio

[Note: I published this long ago, in the early days of this blog. Recently I read a post by Kathy Loomis on fear and art, wondering if we focus on the fear too much, teaching fear rather than boldness. That may be so. But the most important thing to learn about fear in art and in most making is, there is really nothing to be afraid of. In that context, I post this again.]

A friend recently posted on Facebook, “Usually I’m a pretty good cook… today was not one of those days. Man did I mess breakfast up. Oh well, the dogs liked it.”

I said, “If you ask yourself ‘what’s the worst that would happen if…’ and the answer is that the dogs will get to eat it, you might as well try it!”

There’s a lot of stuff I don’t try in my quilting. Sometimes I…

View original post 828 more words

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “What’s the Worst that Would Happen …?

  1. dezertsuz

    Interesting reblog, thanks for sharing.

  2. Bonus! I got it twice, from both blogging friends!

  3. Feel the fear and do it! Terrified myself yesterday making two buttonholes on scary sewing machine! So happy today! We should all just go for it.

  4. Cher

    a great reminder to free ourselves of our own barriers! thanks so much for a great read/reminder …

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

