Diluting Orange a Bit More

Continuing (started  here)  with Score #7, Layered Curves, from Sherri Lynn Wood’s Improv Handbook for Modern Quilters.  After getting a suggestion from Lisa to make stripes, I thought about it.  Straight stripes seemed too clashy with the patchwork, so I thought I’d try parallel curved stripes. I tested the idea on one patch (that will become three).

Six test blocks

I had intended more than one stripe, but the block seemed to distort more with each parallel seam than it had with the single, so I stopped with one. Of course it could have been operator error. I may try again.

At this point I am wondering if putting stripes in half the blocks is enough; if stripes in all the blocks would be too much; or if I should make double stripes in one set.

In spite of my decision to not use three blues, I ended up using them. I decided there was enough contrast for the few times they would meet and that I would try to avoid having them meet too often.

At least the orange is under control.

Linking with Wednesday and Thursday linkups–buttons in the sidebar. ETA: Just found Monday Moving it Forward–that’s what’s happening to this one, so linking up.

 

13 Comments

Filed under design, quilting

13 responses to “Diluting Orange a Bit More

  1. I love orange and blue combination ! I am also working with this book and will begin Score #2 very soon.

  2. This looks fabulous! I love the way you’ve controlled the orange and brown with the blue to complement and soften it, and managed the straight lines with the curves. Very very good. Can’t wait to see more.

  3. Seems from reading her book that distortion is usual, so probably not operator error this time 😉. The blue goes well.

  4. Sue

    I like the narrow strips, particularly in the middle/bottom where it morphs from a white strip to a blue one…I don’t know how you did that, exactly, but it looks very sharp. I like where you are going with this. The orange is still very…surprising!

  5. Sue

    …oh, and I think it is okay if you let the block distort, if you mean get out of square. You could always square them up again, or not. If you mean they no longer lie flat, the Handbook has a number of tips for dealing with that, too.

  6. dezertsuz

    It’s looking SO much less screechy! I love the stripes. I’m wondering what would happen if instead of parallel your stripes came at each other, sort of like melon edges, only there would be two? I don’t know, but I like it now, and I really didn’t when it was all screaming orange!

  7. I really like the narrow light blue stripes. It might be more interesting if they don’t show up in every (other) blocks but only occasionally. This is headed in a wonderful direction.

  8. I agree with Magpie Sue, the stripes are right! Even better if the come back here and there. I would even try a few blocks with double stripes if you are inclined to make more blocks.
    Love seeing your proces. Thank you for sharing!
    Esther

  9. It looks really neat, what fun to watch your process!

  10. Em

    Thanks for linking up. Enjoyed your process. Love the orange and blue combo.

  11. kathysnest32

    I never thought of doing this.it works.
    Kathleen Mary
    kathysnest32.wordpress.com

  12. Love your colour combo here… and it looks like you are having fun with trying out these improve ideas!

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

