Scrappy Block-of-the-Month Marathon

Well, it feels like a marathon because I’ve decided to make up all the rest of the blocks so they won’t interrupt other projects as the year progresses. (I had had that thought once before, but managed to get only three made up–link to that attempt with ‘red’ below.) This pattern is a great one for using up 2-inch squares (finish at 1 1/2 inches). Or you could modify it and make other than 12 1/2 by 12 1/2 blocks.

ETA correction to measurements: These are 12 1/2 inch blocks made from 2 1/2 inch squares of color fabric and 4 1/2 of white.  Two-inch squares would make 9 1/2-inch square blocks with 3 1/2 inch white squares. Of course you all figured that out already, right? 2/14/16.

So, my blocks are now completed from January through July.

I prefer the more mixed palettes like the first month’s block. We have had single color twice ( blue, red ) besides the pink above. Not only do I like the look of more variety, but it would be easier to find enough fabrics to make a whole quilt from my scraps. The block in the larger photo, limiting choice to brights, provides a nice mix of control and variety.

July is the last month for this pattern. I’ll wait to see what the next one is before I decide whether to play along or not. Maybe if I were to win the batch one of the months I’d be more eager to try again.

Linking up with Oh Scrap!  (Button in Sidebar)

5 Comments

Filed under quilting

5 responses to “Scrappy Block-of-the-Month Marathon

  1. I confess I do enjoy the look of the single colour versions, but I can see the difficulty of keeping a balance if your fabrics in that palette are limited. I particularly like the green one!

  2. I love these blocks! Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

  3. I am starting to suspect you do not sleep, you just make quilt blocks 🙂 Another set of lovely blocks!

  4. I’m really glad that you shared these, and impressed that you got all your blocks done before the year even began! I’ve just started rather randomly sewing together my scrap squares as leaders and enders, so this may be a block I can use them for.

  5. Cher

    well done to take that on and now you won’t have to interrupt other projects as the year goes along.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

