F2F November Blocks

The foot-squared-freestyle (F2F) blocks have made it across the pond, so now I can show them.

The color request for November was bright purple and bright blue. I’d have liked to have had much brighter, truer colors to offer, but jewel tones and crayon colored fabrics keep disappearing faster than I can buy them.

I remember visiting a new quilt shop in the greater Lafayette area and being delighted to see the whole range of crayon colors. The shop owner said she planned to continue offering them. But I moved away.

I did go shopping, but the marketers have determined that I’ll not get clear, bright colors this year.

So, the blocks.

 

Sunny Lanes

Sunny Lanes 12 1/2 x 12 1/2

See the watermark?  It is there not because I am claiming the pattern, but because I learned how to make watermarks. I see no reason to claim a traditional block. This one is traditional in shapes, but not colors. Barbara Brackman’s Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns shows the lightest and darkest two colors in the triangles, as here, but the four patches are made with only two medium prints. I have been quite free with the coloration of the four patch segments. So it is, and isn’t, traditional.

I always have to do my post-construction critique. I think I might have liked it better if I’d used the medium blue instead of the light lavender or if all four corners had used the medium blue, while keeping the lavender.

Since I’ve been making blocks only, I hadn’t thought much about how it would look in an overall setting. Then I saw its potential on The Chain Piecer’s blog. Pretty impressive, eh?

Dutchman's Puzzle

Dutchman’s Puzzle 12 1/2 x 12 1/2

I have to make blocks with Flying Geese sections occasionally to maintain my supply of bonus triangles to use as leaders and enders. 🙂 Besides, I like it. The traditional fabric choice is two colors, but I like to emphasize the pinwheel.

Ohio Star

Ohio Star 12 1/2 x 12 1/2

Again, not quite the Brackman coloring; she shows two colors, though the dark background and light star are traditional. I like trying to match the values while changing colors–Brackman calls the color arrangement I’ve used Mosaic. And she lists four block constructions that have been given the name (among others) of Ohio Star.

Yet a different color pattern has the name Lone Star.  One year for Christmas I made a pair, using the same fabrics. One was colored as the Ohio Star (for my dad who started life in Ohio) and the other colored as the Lone Star (for my step-mother who started out in Texas). Too bad I don’t have a photo to share.

You can tell I spend as much time browsing her encyclopedia as sewing.

 

7 Comments

Filed under quilting

7 responses to “F2F November Blocks

  1. You did a great job and the colours are really lovely too. Thank you so much for making my favourite style in my favourite fabrics. Actually, if you go for pinwheels and flying geese you can’t go wrong in my book 🙂

  2. Thanks for the link to the finished quilt using that first block. I hadn’t visualized how it would look set together – what an eye-opener!
    Love your blocks – even if you couldn’t find colors snazzy enough!

  3. Ha-ha, I’m glad one category of fabric is disappearing faster than you can buy it. That isn’t always the case 😉

  4. These are so pretty Claire! You have a terrific sense of color!
    Hugs
    Esther

  5. It’s rare that I make a quilt using the same block overall, but that example you linked to is almost enough to make me have a go! Interesting how the repeat changes your perception, isn’t it? Lovely blocks, and despite your complaint about the lack of colour choice, I think you’ve done a great job!

  6. dezertsuz

    I think I have to disagree with your desired color corrections on block one. One of the things I like most about it is using the two blues exactly as you did, and having the lighter roads through it. =) The blocks are all wonderful, though, and I know she’ll be thrilled with them.

  7. Love your colour combo here Claire! and thanx for the link to Alison’s version!

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

