The Last of the Doll Quilts for 2015

When guild meeting time came, I had 8 doll quilts finished and two to go, two that needed pieced backs. While working on them, I added two more.

map quilt

~24 x 24

First I found this scarf that I’d never decided what to do with. When I noticed it was doll quilt size, I had a plan. (I hope there is a child out there who likes bicycles or maps.)

Seems a one piece top deserves the most pieced back.

map quilt back

~24 x 24

(The dark colors blend too well with the sofa; it really is a square quilt.) The guild had been given the backing fabric for a previous project, and I’d taken the left overs.  The medium width strips are left from when I didn’t need the full width. The narrow strips are color samples that had been stapled to a card. One day I removed the staples, arranged the strips and sewed them into squares awaiting some future quilt. There are six more squares for some future use. For the quilting I followed various of the roads–sometimes creating my own. Good thing it was with stitches and not a car. That was the most detailed pieced back.

The other addition was from the Noah’s Ark panel–border prints to coordinate with the panel; however, only 18 inches wide. While I still had the coordinating scraps out, I decided to add another doll quilt.

Noah doll quilt

18 x 24

This top was narrow enough not to need piecing for the back. I tried quilting clamshell for the first time. Barely visible from the front–back shows it better.

clamshell quilting

As before, I tried it without marking. Either I decide I like the “primitive” look, or I’ll have to perfect my curves. And my estimation of width. The top row was too narrow for two, and too wide for the one row that I made.

I also practiced curves on the checkerboard centered quilt.

Checkerboard center

~24 x 24

The red and blue minkee fabrics allow bits of thread to be pulled through to the top–my thread for quilting was light gray. The quilting shows better from the back.

checkerboard back

It seemed I could either watch speed and stitch length or watch the curve, but not both at the same time. I quilted the flower as I remembered from a blog, and then went hunting for the blog. It was  Flower Power, by Lori Kennedy. (She may not appreciate being credited, since I didn’t remember it quite as she had demonstrated it.) I plan to continue practicing this flower on the next infant top that I quilt.

And last but not least, the four-patch block quilt.

4-patch front

24 x 24

As I’d may have mentioned previously, I had some 3 1/2 inch squares left over from my Urban Chickens quilt. I think this quilt got the best color matches for this print fabric. This one also got a pieced back.

back of

I did the cross hatch quilting with the walking foot, using the corners of the squares as guidelines.

I have enough minkee left to back 4-5 quilts for next year. It is nice and soft, but not really nice to work with. I’ll be glad not to be making more minkee lint on the floors (and furniture, and clothing, and and and) now that these quilts are finished.

I have a couple secret projects to work on, but am also hoping to finish one more infant quilt before meeting night (last chance for delivery this year). I have some time to work on it tonight.

Linking with Finish it up Friday and Free Motion Mavericks today and Oh Scrap! on Sunday (button in sidebar). And because the backs are improv, though minimally so–took strips the shape they came in; they were almost straight–and because I just found this new linky, linking with Ad Hoc Improv Quilters. (AHIQ)

11 Comments

Filed under quilting

11 responses to “The Last of the Doll Quilts for 2015

  1. dezertsuz

    They may not be perfect yet, but your curves are getting better, and they are certainly better than mine! I wouldn’t even begin to think about a clamshell! However, I saw a hint on another video today that might help a little – drawing chalk lines equally spaced might make all the clams the same width. Do you ever watch the APQS longarm tutorials? That’s where I pick up a lot of hints. I know you aren’t using a longarm, but some of the same things will work.

  2. Your quilts are too fun! I especially like the idea of the quilted map. Surely some little girl will love it and want to visit that city some day!

  3. Cher

    fun doll quilts and your quilting is great on them…good for you to keep working on curve quilting…it looked great

  4. Ann

    What fun quilt backs. I especially like the map handkerchief for a back. Delightful. Thanks for linking up with AHIQ. It’s so fun to see everyone’s variations of improv.

  5. I love all your little quilts – fronts and backs! (The map is my favorite, I will admit!)
    Such a good idea to practice quilting on them. I have no confidence in my machine quilting skills whatsoever – maybe I should try a few doll quilts?

  6. It is great seeing all that leftover fabrics being made into finished quilts. Thanks for sharing all these lovelies with Oh Scrap!

  7. My clamshell quilting looks a lot like yours Claire. 🙂
    It’s fun to see what you created from all the little leftovers. My favorite is the map backing – how clever to use a scarf like that!

  8. Clamshells are a tough motif. I’ve found that they look best when I make them small and fill a large area with them. (They blend well.) They also get easier, although I’ll admit mine still need lots of improvement.

  9. So, so sorry! I meant to tell you how much I like your doll quilts. Love the idea of using a scarf (or another item that would work so well). That was a brilliant idea and my favorite of your doll quilts!

  10. That was a great way to use the scarf. Congratulations on your finishes. Are these being donated somewhere? A doll quilt is a nice sized project to try new skills. 🙂

  11. Hello Claire,
    You have done a great job with the quilting, especially as you found the minkee difficult to work with. I love the flowers.
    Thank you for linking up with Free Motion Mavericks!
    Love, Muv

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

