Two Noah Panel Infant Quilts

Long ago–hard to believe it was 2012–I got most of these two tops finished at a retreat. (Here) They have been patiently waiting for final borders and quilting, so they seemed good to add to my UFO list. Of the ten I’d listed, I’ve finished three, so something small seemed a good project. I’d hoped to do two, but I forgot a couple obligations that took away from quilting time, so I finished one. I’m thinking that it pays to have a bigger goal than what can be accomplished; I think it pushes so that even if not reached, more is finished than would have been without it. Of course if you are going to play that game with yourself, you don’t dare beat yourself up for not accomplishing your whole goal!

This is the one that got finished.

Noah 1 quilted front

37 x 37

It needed at least three inches of border; I was aiming for 36-inch square, and thought more would be taken up in quilting. I used the added two borders to brighten it up a bit. The blue HSTs had a duller effect than I had expected. The quilt is made from scraps, mine and others’ scraps. Two of the fabrics–the stripe and the blue star print–were left over from two queen quilts; the panel and the cream stripe came from the give-away table at a guild retreat (around 2010). The other prints were from various guild charity starter kits, made up from donated scraps. Even the back was made from scraps of flannel a friend had given me.

Noah 1 back

While not quite synchronized with the top, it does have animals. 🙂

I knew how I wanted to quilt the center and outer borders,but it took a while to decide on quilting patterns for the HST rows. I’d designed them to be two-color flying geese; however, the overall look was of two saw tooth rows. I thought maybe I could emphasize the geese units with quilting.

I knew I wanted to outline the figures in the panel, and that led to the vine with leaves for the blue and blue-checked borders.

vine and flying gees detail

On one side of the panel I added leaves in the sky and wished I’d thought of it when doing the first half–I’ll have to remember that when I quilt Noah #2.

Noah 1 quilting detail panel

For the outer two borders,I wanted to use the “wonky triangle” quilting that I found on Night Quilter’s blog. I thought of three loops in the “geese,” but decided I wanted something more transitional between the curvy center and angular outer borders. I think I got the idea that I ended up using, the three triangles per “goose,” from Angela Walters’ dot to dot quilting. Only I didn’t use dots. Even making dots is more marking than I want to do.

The corners were a challenge.

HST detail

I wanted to keep the straight line going–it would have looked better if I’d done the curvy outline or at least have connected with stitch in the ditch instead of the one lone line on the 3/4 square. And you can see (lower right) where I began.  Yep, I should have practiced the idea before starting on the quilt itself.  It took a “goose” or two to get the bottoms of the three triangles to come out even.

And here is the wonky triangles border.

wonky triangles border

The striped border, where you can’t see the quilting, is where I practiced the border. I really like the effect of this design, and it is fast and easy after the first couple repeats. (I keep the pencil diagram nearby for moments when I forget where I am in the pattern.) I’ve done various corner turning tactics, mostly estimating how much distance is left and remembering that the first line on the new side is perpendicular to the length.

There was no binding to do because I’d “birthed” it (aka envelop style edge).

Linking up with  Finish it up Friday , Free Motion Mavericks, TGIFF,  Let’s Make Baby Quilts, on Sunday with Oh Scrap! And on Tuesday Freemotion by the River (buttons in sidebar).

 

11 Comments

Filed under quilting

11 responses to “Two Noah Panel Infant Quilts

  1. Time sure does fly when we’re creating UFOs. I like what you said about self set deadlines Claire! This Noahs Ark turned out really cute – nice work on the quilting too!

  2. Your mitered corners look great! Actually the whole thing looks great, a really good project to finish up. It is cheerful and cozy. The blue with stars in the HST — I’ve had that and used it all up. It was one of my favorite-ever fabrics. 🙂

  3. Mitered corners are like magic, right?
    Lovely quilt – and thanks for the close-up tour of the quilting! I love seeing how people handle different spaces.

  4. dezertsuz

    I’m very impressed with your quilting, Claire. You’ve really come a long way since you decided to start doing the FMQ. It looks wonderful, and I like the overall look of the quilt, too. Such a terrific scrap story!

  5. Great finish. I like your quilting motifs. Deadlines/to-do lists are great…even when you don’t meet them, it keeps you focused. Thanks for linking up with TGIFF.

  6. The borders are sweet! Nice build out from the panel!

  7. I like how the blue and red triangle borders pull the blue and red out of the panel. Pretty finish!

  8. Isn’t it fun when so many scraps go into one quilt. I love your wonky triangle border quilting. Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

  9. A cute quilty finish Claire! Love your wonky triangle border, must give that a go sometime too! and I agree with you re self imposed deadlines, a little challenge is good!

  10. Hello Claire,

    This looks like great fun! I love the way you have used so many different scraps and pieces, and the child who ends up with this quilt will really enjoy looking at all the animals.

    Thank you for linking up with Free Motion Mavericks!

    Love, Muv

  11. Great finish Claire, it looks great!

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

