Reviving an Old Art Quilt Project

I’ve been thinking about this project for a very long time. Since 2010 in fact. When I said then that it would be a long time till it was finished, I wasn’t thinking 5-6 years! But you know how that back burner absorbs things.(Sorry, no new photos yet because I haven’t dug it out yet–just been thinking about it. So if you are curious, you will have to click the link to the old post.)

The first thing that held me back was all that red. We’d been told to select three strips, then listened to some color theory, and then were sent to select one more. When I selected the red, I’d had thoughts of accents, not of using four colors equally.

Secondly,Ā I had never really liked the first three blocks from the beginning sewing exercise.

The third objection didn’t occur till later, several quilt shows later. The 9-patch layout and accompanying accents became a recognizable “I’ve been to a Jean Wells workshop” thing.

One advantage to letting a project sit for a long time (I’m enabling other procrastinators here) is that you learn new techniques and get new ideas. I’m not sure which order the new ideas appeared in, but it really doesn’t matter.

–It occurred to me that I didn’t have to finish as started. (Duh!) I could add more color and thus make the red into the accent I had originally envisioned. I didn’t have to stick with the 9-patch layout just because that was what had been taught.

–At a PMQG retreat I participated in an improv exercise where we made a start, passed it on and the next person made a change. After four or five rotations we got together to discuss what we had done and why. One member’s tactic often was to slice and rearrange. (Sometimes I wonder why I couldn’t have thought of such things, but meanwhile I am glad to be led to them somehow.) Now I had a potential solustion for redoing the three blocks from the first color exercise.

Now that I have the beginning of an idea, it is time to dig those blocks out from hiding. Stay tuned (not planning on it taking another 5 years).

Linking with Off the Wall Fridays, button in the sidebar.

9 Comments

Filed under design, quilting

9 responses to “Reviving an Old Art Quilt Project

  1. Oh yes, this could be fun. Pull it out and let yourself do anything at all with those blocks. You could slice and dice, you could bisect and insert, you could stitch some together before surgery, you could add other colors shapes values… There is NO downside to this! šŸ™‚

  2. Since it was sitting there not being anything useful, you can pretty much start from first principles if that’s what you need to do. I agree that a bit less emphasis on red would probably be to my taste too!

  3. I personally like the colors you used for those blocks, but they look too small. You could add some strips of blues and greens and black/whites and make them bigger and wonkier! They look like a great starting point.

  4. dezertsuz

    I look forward to seeing what comes out of this rumination on the old project!

  5. Now that you have told us about it, the pressure is on for you to finish it ASAP and post photos šŸ™‚

  6. As a procrastinator, I graciously thank you for the enabling. (Thanks!)
    Sounds like it’s time for you to have fun. Make those blocks dizzy!

  7. I’m so glad you’re getting back to a project after five years! It means there’s hope for the rest of us. I like the original blocks and look forward to seeing what you create.

  8. Cher

    what a great inspiration to take something old and make it your own. I too look forward to what will happen next with this new attitude/approach to a much aged start! thanks so much for sharing

  9. Ha! I read that comment from desertsuz as the “ruination” of the old project. You can do it, you are the creator, who giveth and take the away, in this arena! Don’t forget to post process and results!

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

