F2F September and Other Blocks

I was so glad Sue posted photos of what she had in mind for her month (here). From the verbal description I had pictured mostly black and white with a touch of only one color. And I thought it would have to be modern. But before I acted on the two ideas I had started, I saw her post and realized that it could be done in traditional patterns too. And could have more colors than one.

So that means I can use my current favorite block, Sunny Lanes, as one. Maybe everyone will get this block after all.

Sunny Lanes

Sunny Lanes 12 1/2 x 12 1/2

I knew from the start that I wanted the diagonal rainbow; I debated between color and black print for the two corner 4-patch sections. I’d wanted the diagonal to be unique in the block, but it felt just too dark. So color it is. The other two blocks have a single color added.

Variable Star

Variable Star 12 1/2 x 12 1/2

Sometimes I piece the center of this star, but not when I have such a lush print. I was shopping with a friend a while back, who spotted this combination of black-and-white prints. Now I wish I had bought yards instead of a half yard of each. But as I remember it, I was concerned about luggage and airline weight limits.

The next block is my favorite of the three. What I like most is the way the values work–lighter in the center and darker (both “goose” and background) for the outer sections.

Dutchman's Puzzl

Dutchman’s Puzzle , 12 1/2 x 12 1/2

Too bad I didn’t have four text fabrics–we’ll just pretend the circles are Os.

I was about to put fabric away (imagine that!) when I remembered heart-hug blocks for an online friend, who had requested black/white/red.

Heart blocks

6 1/2 x 6 1/2

And then I remembered Block Lotto for Sunshine (link in sidebar). The theme for September is brights. I really like bright month–should I win the pot, they would be fun to work with. Having recently done a lot of scrap cutting, I thought I’d start with checking how many brights I had in the 3 1/2-inch square box.

16-patch

12 1/2 x 12 1/2

Every piece does not have to be bright; just so some are. I had more than this, but two pair are enough of a chance to win them all. And I also planned to finish up a block from stray chickens that were left over from the Urban Chicken quilt that I made last spring. (The blocks of a pair that is an entry do not have to match.)

Modified Urban Chicken block

12 1/2 x 12 1/2

It seems one “chicken” got out of the fence, so I had only three. That seemed to necessitate a different arrangement than along one side.

So guess what!  No fabric has been put away.

Come Sunday, I’ll link with Oh Scrap! (button in sidebar)–with it being NW Quilt Expo weekend, I doubt I’ll be doing any more sewing.

ETA I won the block lotto batch, which is great because I love working with the brights.

10 Comments

Filed under quilting

10 responses to “F2F September and Other Blocks

  1. So productive! And all of the projects look really fun. I’m glad you used up all that fabric! But what will you have left for retreat?

  2. Don’t bury your black and white too deep in the cupboard; come April, you’ll need it for me!

  3. Cher

    wow you have done wonderful blocks. your cutting up scraps is yielding a great resource for whipping out blocks.

  4. dezertsuz

    Sunny Lanes is just perfect for this. Love it with the rainbow colors. I need to get mine done this week. You’ve been very scrap-busy! Good luck on winning all the bright blocks.

  5. I love the black/white and brights! I used to use that formula for work outfits, too. You have been on a roll, Claire! Keep up the good work!

  6. Green and gray – never thought of that combination – I really really really like it!

  7. What a happy and bright combination of blocks. The green geese are my favorite.

  8. Kat

    These look great! Awesome blocks. Kat @ katandcatquilts.blogspot.com

  9. I really like that Sunny Lanes block. Not sure I have seen it before. All of your blocks are great! Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

  10. Dee Dee

    There are going to be a lot of happy quilters when they receive your bright and happy blocks. Great job.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

