More on Improv

The Improv Handbook for Modern Quilters: A Guide to Creating, Quilting, and Living CourageouslyThe Improv Handbook for Modern Quilters: A Guide to Creating, Quilting, and Living Courageously by Sherri Lynn Wood

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My opinion changed as I progressed.

At first I wasn’t thrilled with the assumption that I didn’t do improv because I was afraid of failure and that I needed meditations to decrease anxiety. I am not afraid of failure, and I try many new things. I am not convinced that I need to abandon use of rulers entirely. I did not like the first several “scores” (what Wood offers instead of patterns). But I usually finish a book I start, and as I continued I began to like the samples better and  Wood also decreased the assumption of fear. So by the end, I enjoyed the book.

In the ten “scores” and the color chapter there are an interesting variety of approaches to improv piecing. I’d say I started out with about two or three of her tactics in my repertoire. It was good to have options expanded. Her explanations were mostly clear (and I reasoned, on those few times when I didn’t understand, So what? it is improv.)

A valuable section is her tools section where Wood explains techniques unique to improv: how to solve problems and inconsistencies that occur because of the free style cutting and stitching, like bumps and bubbles and matching up irregular seams other than straightening them.

A valuable book for quilters who want to do improv in more ways than random bits of fabric and wonky log cabin.

View all my reviews

5 Comments

Filed under quilting

5 responses to “More on Improv

  1. dezertsuz

    LOL, you are more tolerant than I am. I’m afraid I would have abandoned reading it. Obviously, she’s made assumptions based on a small sample. I don’t want to do crazy piecing as a normal practice. I don’t mind strings or wonky log cabins, or even mish-mash blocks. I just don’t want that as my FOCUS for quilting. That’s for my leader-enders and to keep from wasting fabric. I’ve no intention of cutting up perfectly good fabric to make improv designs. Another way you are more tolerant than I am. Good thing quilting has room for a lot of different styles! LOL

  2. Cher

    thanks for sharing your review.

  3. I’m enjoying her book so far, having done only the first score. At first I was a little put off by all the self-promotion that has accompanied publication, but I think that’s what is expected of authors these days. I think it’s the most original book I’ve seen recently.

  4. Ah thanks for this review, I have been eyeing this book. I am into improv so maybe I will consider getting it (to add to the 370 other craft books in my collection – ha!

  5. I enjoyed your review… and I agree, the ‘tools’ section was useful, indeed for any quilter! I also found the improv gallery sections interesting to see just how others had actually interpreted her ideas!

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

