Bridge Print Bunk Quilt Finished

And just in the nick of time, the last bunk quilt is finished. I left off with the top and went off to design and quilt others, but am back.  Previous post is here if you want the history and fabric information.

finished quilt

50 x 70

The binding is another print from the Waterfront Park line, but I don’t remember its name. I’m trying something new here–print binding. Usually I go for solids and either the darkest color in the quilt or a color darker. Can’t get much darker than navy though, and I didn’t feel the need for more navy. I rather like that there is a bit of navy in the binding print though.

For the quilting I started with wood grain to suggest air and water currents. It shows best in the center.

Quilting

It got modified a bit on the navy when I tried to go around the bridges.

Quilting on navy

And a bit more when I quilted the 6-inch aqua and navy checkerboard strip.

Binding and aqua quilting

The quilting design works better when one is not changing thread colors.  It looks much nicer when the curves are echoed more than you can when you come to the edge of a color. Filing that fact away for future reference.

The backing is a Dear Stella print; when I bought it, I was envisioning more aqua on the front. I’m not ready to try different colors on top and bobbin, so there is navy stitching on the back.

Showing the back

With this quilt my quilting blitz is over for a while. Time for some scrap control and designing. Stay tuned.

Tuesday I’ll link with Free Motion by the River; Thursday with Free Motion Mavericks and Needle and Thread Thursday, and Friday  with LAFF, TGIFF, and Finish it up Friday. You may want to see what others are doing: Buttons in sidebar and links here where necessary. Come the 14th I’ll link with Le Challenge where the theme for the month is wood. I think wood grain quilting counts, even if it is meant to look like currents.

19 Comments

Filed under quilting

19 responses to “Bridge Print Bunk Quilt Finished

  1. Just love the fabrics and the print binding is perfect! Wonderful

  2. Great color combination! The navy quilting worked well!

  3. dezertsuz

    I think I like this one the best! There’s such nice symmetry (there’s that word again!) to the colors and the shapes. It’s balanced and I love the quilting I can see.

  4. I think your quilting looks great! When you see it from a distance is looks well balanced.

  5. A lovely finish! Great colour combo… and I really like the splashes of red! Linda

  6. I love the way you put those fabrics together.

  7. I really like this quilt. I kept looking at it. The pattern is unique. I’ll be back to look again–no doubt. Came here from Connie’s.

  8. it looks great! I think you did a great job on the quilting and I love the binding

  9. I really like your choice for quilting and the binding you picked is perfect. It’s just a great quilt! Someone’s going to be very happy!

  10. Lovely quilt, I like your wavy quilting too.

  11. Lovely quilt; thank you for sharing your quilting decisions and progress on this one. I can learn from your experience!

  12. You’ve shown a nice use of your fabrics here. I like the balance of the checks with the bridge print very much.

    Julie @ Pink Doxies

  13. What a beautiful quilt! Love the fabrics and the quilting looks amazing! Great way to interpret the theme, thanks for linking to le challenge 🙂

  14. Love the fabrics in this quilt… I’ve been drooling over Waterfront Park since it came out, but all I’ve managed to buy is the Domino Dot in a bunch of colours. Thanks for linking up with TGIFF!

  15. Vera

    Congrats on your finish. Looking good!

  16. Hello Claire,

    What a wonderful quilt! The salmon pinks make a great contrast with the navy and aqua prints, and the choice of quilting design is perfect.

    Thank you for linking up with Free motion Mavericks.

    Love, Muv

  17. Cher

    hip hip hooray for another fabulous finish! I agree with how wonderful your quilting turned out..perfect for doing what you envisioned, and the color combinations are great..! You have just rocked these out!

  18. Ann casey

    Great quilt! Angela Walters always uses the same thread colour for top and back; the navy on back is interesting.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

