And Bunk Top #4 Is Finished

The 9-patch blocks that I started here behaved quite nicely as I assembled them. Only one discrepancy between the top and my plan.

Charm top

52 x 75

I’d intended the red 9-patch for the center. That was when I was planning the 7 block spaces for the patchwork. Since I had enough workable charms for 8 blocks, I rearranged and lost my center. Pretty minor, don’t you think? And I was undecided about sashing or borders. Sashing didn’t add anything when I auditioned the dark aqua, so borders it is.

Weeks Ringle, in her Craftsy class on modern quilt design, says that chaos is okay when contained. Although the shapes are not as chaotic as improv piecing, the prints are pretty busy. For the most part I controlled them a bit by light and dark and scale of the prints.  Could not do that perfectly because the distribution in a charm pack doesn’t always meet my design desires.  That would be the disadvantage of the packs. But the advantage is being able to sit down and sew almost immediately after getting an idea, without the cutting time in between. I don’t rush to buy precuts, but they do have a place.

The top will become a bunk quilt for Strength for the Journey, a summer camp for people with HIV/AIDS. Each new camper gets a quilt.

4 Comments

Filed under quilting

4 responses to “And Bunk Top #4 Is Finished

  1. Well you Bunk is wonderful. Sounds you you learned allot through this project and that is always a bonus And for such a wonderful cause! A Gift all involved.

  2. Cher

    Nice top Claire…I think you did a great job working with what you had. Lots of place to rest the eye from the busy prints.

  3. dezertsuz

    What a great cause. I like this, and the controlled chaos of prints, although the idea of controlling chaos is so interesting!

  4. “chaos is okay when contained” – love it! Nice colors against the neutral background

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

