Charm Pack, Bunk Top, and Lotto

Two experiments today.

First, I read Riddle and Whimsey’s post about the Disappearing Hourglass and wanted to try it. I followed her post to the YouTube tutorial by Missouri Star that she used and thought of block lotto. Ah, but blocks have to be 12 1/2 x 12 1/2 inches. These disappearing variations are easiest when you can go with the flow and take the size you get. On the other hand, I know how to draft a pattern. It’s a little different when you work in reverse though. Normally I’d graph from the finished size (adding seam allowance at the time of cutting), and  when cutting I’d add 1 inch (7/8″ for people who sew so perfectly that their blocks come out right size–I need wiggle room and then I trim) when I want a HST and 1 3/8″ when I want a QST.

But if I am going to make a HST by cutting QSTs, which measurement should I use.

I tried a couple combinations–none came out exactly, but I got to a point where I could tweak it. I cut 10 3/4″ square; trimmed the HST to 7 inches. I ended up with 13 1/2″, made my cuts into thirds at 4.5″ and ended up with 12 1/2-inch block.

Disappearing Hourglass

OK, so I need two blocks for lotto. My fabric won’t make another 10 3/4 inch square so I’ll make my next HSTs the old way by cutting squares an inch larger than the desired finished size and cutting them diagonally. Actually I’ll probably always make this block that way since the quick method leaves every edge bias. But it was fun to play.

The second experiment was less complicated as it involved fabric instead of math. I was pondering the need for more bunk quilts and whether I had time to make another–this time just a top. I’d let the guild women tie it. Had to be something fast. And I thought of the charm pack in my goodies from QuiltCon. I did a quick sketch to see how many I needed. More than one pack. One of my friends had given me a charm pack, maybe . . .  The experiment was to see if I could get 7 or 8 decent blocks out of the combined charms.  And I did.

Charm pack 9-patch blocks

Trust me, there are two more; they just didn’t fit in the photo. A bit busy, but I think they will do. I’ll alternate blocks with squares of the light aqua that I’m auditioning in the photo. To get it up to size, I’ll either add a small border or insert narrow sashing. Leaning toward the latter.

ETA links: Details about the guild’s bunk quilt project and my first bunk quilt here. Second quilt top here. Third is the previous post.

Linking with WIP Wednesday, Let’s Bee Social, and Needle and Thread Thursday. Buttons in the side bar.

8 Comments

Filed under quilting

8 responses to “Charm Pack, Bunk Top, and Lotto

  1. What fun experiments. I like both your blocks. The nine patch is very cheerful.

  2. I made a disappearing hourglass, and I agree it was a bugger to piece. I just don’t like the MSQ’s technique for it because it has a lot of room for error, you can’t trim that first hourglass block to square it up, and then there is that bias edge. It is do-able, though. I have a whole quilt top waiting to be quilted. I also made the disappearing pinwheel, and it went together so much easier because I trimmed the initial pinwheel down to 12″ and then cut it into thirds. I very much agree with your conclusion on making the HSTs another way.

  3. dezertsuz

    I love your post, but I think I’ll just stick with Missouri Star’s directions – that gave me a headache. LOL Love your block.

  4. I really like your top with the 9-patch blocks. I think that’s the one you’re calling a bunk top? The colors look great together. (I especially like the upper right block with reds and oranges.)

  5. thanks for your comment on my blog. I see that you like experimenting too !
    I don’t think I’ve seen that disappearing hourglass block before.

  6. Cher

    great blocks for the latest bunk quilt! great use of charms and I like the solid fabric you chose. I really like that lotto block..very well done!

  7. I totally agree that experimenting with fabric is easier than with math. 🙂 Still, both worked out well. The scrappy charms will be great with the calm blue and it’s good to try new ways of assembling blocks. http://www.quiltartbymegan.com

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

