In the Land of Make-Do

I have finished piecing a charity top. It started when I was cutting 6 1/2-inch squares for kits for another project. These were left.

Quilt from left overs

42 x 56

Not the right number for any pattern I might think of. Two linking features: flowers and pink in each print fabric. And my refrain, “it will keep someone warm” links it with some other charity quilts I’ve made.

I am having a chuckle thinking of future quilt historians finding this quilt in 2075 or so and trying to figure out what “they” were doing “back then.”

Linking up with Oh Scrap!

10 Comments

Filed under quilting

10 responses to “In the Land of Make-Do

  1. Am hoping that The Future will say “They” were sharing warm hugs with someone who needed them! Great use of ‘leftovers!”

  2. Are you quilting instead of watching the superbowl? 🙂

  3. Quilting is my sport of choice too!

    I think it is great to put together a quilt for the sake of just keeping someone warm. It will be much appreciated I am sure.

    Thanks for linking up with Oh Scrap!

  4. I think it is great to make quilts with what you have. I’d hope someone in future would see the special purpose behind it.

  5. Hi!!!! It is really pretty!!!! I am sure it will be loved!!!!

  6. It very much appeals to my sense of symmetry! It will be so huggable …
    Kathy T. in Tampa

  7. Scrappy ‘leftover’ quilts are the best! Linda

  8. dezertsuz

    Always good to confuse the historians, in my opinion. =) I like the top, and it WILL keep someone warm and hugged.

  9. lol, I use the phrase “well, it will keep someone warm” many times. And it’s true! I like scrappy quilts though, and I like that yours is pretty and resourceful to boot.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

