Yes, I’m Doing a Mystery Quilt

You are allowed to remind me that I said I wasn’t going to do any more mysteries after three disappointments ( here,  here, and here). But this one sounds different. Moira, of The Quilted Snail,  is leading an improv mystery. (The link goes to her first clue, Jan 11; next one coming up Jan 25. If you want to join in, click on the label “2015 mystery quilt” at the bottom of her post to get the earlier posts about fabric selection.) I started yesterday, and am now ready for clue #2.
Step 1I found the discussion of “neutral” odd and reinterpreted it to “colors you want to show up most” since 1/2 yard was needed of each. So I chose the medium and dark aqua for them. I have two backgrounds because I didn’t have 1 1/2 yards of any fabric that I liked for a background. Stash diving often leaves me with wrong amounts of fabrics in colors I want to use. When I’m lucky, I have more than one. When I’m not lucky, I change palettes or projects. Or shop.

The red is one of the six “other” colors (to be fat quarters or scraps). I have way more than six pulled–I”ll decide which to use when I see what is suggested to do with them.

You just don’t have that kind of control with an ordinary mystery.

Linking up with WIP Wednesday and Let’s Bee Social  and Needle and Thread Thursday .

Linking with Tuesday Archives since mystery quilts are the theme this week.

 

11 Comments

Filed under design, quilting

11 responses to “Yes, I’m Doing a Mystery Quilt

  1. ajonkarl

    I am still strying to finish up Quilted Snails BOM for 2014 and was excited when I saw she was starting a mystery (which I usually love). After seeing the first instructions I was really uncertain, my brain couldn’t wrap around her instructions. Seeing your blocks the light bulb came on and it fell into place. Thanks for your input, gave me a better idea of the direction I will take. Anita

  2. Stopping in from Let’s Bee Social. I like your bravery. I’m pretty shy of mystery quilts. They turn my head to mush trying to make colors and patterns and fabric amounts work out for a long period of time.

  3. You did a great job! What I love is that none of us have the same interpretation or look to our blocks. I can’t show mine unless I find the pics I took when I tested the pattern. =P

  4. Cher

    good luck! I will look forward to seeing your quilt grow as the clues come out

  5. Hi!!!! I am glad you are doing this mystery qal!!!!!! Because I might not have found it if I hadn’t seen your post and then followed over to The Quilted Snail!!!!! Thank You!!!! Your blocks look great!!!!! I am trying to pull fabric tonight!!!! I will get started by Monday anyway!!!!

  6. farmquilter

    I just can’t bring myself to give up that much control to do a mystery! Heck, rarely do my quilts come out the way I see them in my head, so I shouldn’t be such a control freak!! I just don’t want a TWOTAM!!

  7. I like the blocks so far. I like to be in control so mystery quilts aren’t something I’m interested in trying… at least not yet. So much of the design influences my fabric choices! I’d be nervous about choosing fabric blindly. http://www.quiltartbymegan.com

  8. What I love reading in your comments as that I’m not the only one nervous about trying a mystery quilt!! LOL!! This one you have started looks very modern and I do like your colors!! Thanks so much for sharing at Tuesday Archives this week!!

  9. I have only done one mystery quilt, because I like to be in control. This does look like fun.

  10. Enjoy the mystery quilt. Your fabric selections should make for a very soothing quilt.

  11. I love how you added teh stripe across the blocks! Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

