Christmas Placemat

Plan A for the WIP Wednesday winning (here) from Shabby Fabrics was a lap quilt with the Santa’s at the center of Variable Star blocks–my go-to pattern when I want to feature a novelty print. While waiting for the additional matching red and green that I’d ordered, I got another idea.

Placemat

Placemats and napkins. I think the fabric with the Christmas ornaments got me thinking Christmas tree. It was an easy step from that idea to Barbara Brackman’s Encyclopedia of Pieced Quilt Patterns (OOP, but available electronically as Blockbase) to look for what might be turned into a Christmas tree.  From the 2 1/2  pages of tree blocks, I selected #805 called “Norway Pine” in the Farm Journal and “Pine Tree” in Old Chelsea Station Needlecraft Service.

With the triangles red instead of green, it became a decorated tree. And a square from the star print provided the star atop the tree. I may add four green triangles in the inner row to get more tree, but I rather like the airy look as it is.

And placemats need napkins. So instead of fussy cutting the Santas, those fabrics become the napkins. Should make a festive table or a Christmas gift.

I’ll be linking with WIP Wednesday. Grab a cuppa and browse awhile.

7 Comments

Filed under quilting

7 responses to “Christmas Placemat

  1. A nice idea for a Christmas place-mat, so nice in fact that I might make one like it! I was already thinking Christmas trees.

  2. dezertsuz

    Sometimes it pays not to get our instant gratification, doesn’t it? This is a great idea for a placemat, and the napkins are just perfect to show off Santa. I have a friend who makes 4 napkins for every possible thing that can be celebrated!

  3. What a great idea! Love the Christmas tree placemat!
    Thanks for your comment on my blog!

  4. Fun placemats. I need to get busy for Christmas too : )
    Thanks for stopping by my blog too

  5. Is it already time to start working in Christmas stuff (look of panic) 🙂

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

