If Your Only Tool Is a Hammer…

Most of my sewing time this weekend was devoted to the Modern Quilt Guild’s Riley Blake Basics Challenge. The fat quarters were distributed around September, and I got right to work. (Blogged about it here.)  I set it aside till I could practice Free Motion Quilting because I had “plenty of time.”

No longer do I have plenty of time, and I didn’t get enough practice to feel comfortable with FMQ on the whole quilt, so out came the walking foot. Straight line quilting couldn’t take too long, could it? Three days later, I decided it could.

Quilt top with quiltingAnd a better shot of the quilting

Quilting detail

What added the time was my decision that I didn’t want gray thread on the yellow or orange prints. After I spent eons trying to figure out a continuous line route, I decided it was impossible. Actually I spent less time with the stops and starts and hiding the knots than I spent trying to avoid them.! Next time I won’t think so long (though it is always good to do as much without a thread break as possible–in case my non-quilter friends want to know what’s the big deal).

I still have some time, though not plenty, so I will practice pebbles and do FMQ in the empty triangles and in the big aqua block. I seem to have the best luck with the pebbles design of my FMQ repertoire, so it is good that it is the one I want. (Or is it a case proving the African proverb: If your only tool is a hammer, all your problems look like nails.????)

Linking up with Design Wall Monday and WIP Wednesday (button to right)–check out other peoples’ projects.

9 Comments

Filed under quilting

9 responses to “If Your Only Tool Is a Hammer…

  1. Cher

    glad you are making progress and looking forward to seeing the pebbles show up!

  2. dezertsuz

    I like the proverb. I also like your Riley Blake quilt. Good quilting, too. =)

  3. You sound exactly like me with my RB challenge quilt and FMQ. I put off the quilting because surely I had time to become proficient with my FMQ! Nope. Not at all. My walking foot is coming out this weekend and I’ll be joining you with the good ol’ straight lines. At least you’re being adventurous and adding in some pepples! (Love your quilt, by the way!)

  4. I can’t wait to see the finish on this one. I love the quilting!

  5. Great project! Good luck with the RB challenge. I’ve seen a couple of bloggers talk about it. Will I get to see your quilt at HMQS this year? Pretty cool!

  6. beautiful quilt! And that’s right, I often need more time with my walking foot as with FMQ

  7. I hope you find time to practice FMQ, but your straight line quilting looks incredible!

  8. Great quilting, good luck with FMQ, looking forward to seeing some photos of it.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

