A Monkey Charity Quilt and the A word

monkey starter block

One day I received a surprise package in the mail, a box of fabric and notions. Inside was a note to take what I wanted to use for a charity quilt and add what I wanted and move it along.  I took the above monkey fabric and coordinating prints. It was immediately apparent that there wasn’t enough fabric to get to 40 x 60, so I set it aside till I had time to stash dive. I did find some coordinating solids. And at a recent trip to the fabric store for another project, a bolt of striped fabric had “followed me home.” (Pauses to remember kids claiming a kitten had followed them home when she was sure she had heard, “Here Kitty, Kitty.”)

Over the weekend in a rare house cleaning moment, I decided it would be easier to sew it up than to put it away. 🙂 I cut 3  monkey blocks that were 10 1/2 x 10 1/2, 3 that were 5 1/2 and 7 that were 4 1/2; in other words, I cut as many pieces as I could as large as I could. I tried various settings with the coordinating fabrics and decided on the above for starters.

middle stripSo this is the middle strip with the wandering striped fabric.  It sits waiting my inspiration for using the solids.

I might have made more progress if I hadn’t signed up for a workshop with Nancy Lee Chong and spent yesterday learning <gasp> APPLIQUE.   I’ve resisted it for many years, but I do have to admit it often adds a nice finishing touch. Nancy’s approach sounded painless, and indeed it was.

applique start

Mini Blossom by Pacific Rim Quilt Company

  The Mini Blossom was designed to give practice in each of the five basic lines any applique would require. My first goal is to work on the project regularly enough to not forget what I learned. Maybe the second goal is to finish it. Although I never force myself to finish a class project, I don’t go so far as a friend of mine who takes a Sharpie and writes the date on what she has done in class so she never feels it as a UFO (UnFinished Object–for non-quilters). I leave the possibility open, but feel no guilt to leave it sitting. Tune in around next year to see the eventual decision.

8 Comments

Filed under quilting

8 responses to “A Monkey Charity Quilt and the A word

  1. I love applique, when I have time. Other hand stitching has taken precedence in recent years. I’ll have to make more time for it soon, as there are several unfinished projects I’d like to complete. Love the monkey fabric. I look forward to seeing what you do with the rest of it.

  2. Cher

    oh! what wonderful monkey fabric! so far you have done a wonderful job…I too am looking forward to seeing more on it. meanwhile, good for you to enjoy your applique class. There is a lot of reward in adding it to your tool box of quilting techniques!

  3. Love your appliqué – that hand work can get totally addicting so don’t be surprised if you find yourself picking it up more often than expected. Great work so far on the little monkey quilt – it’s looking really cute.

  4. Jean

    Gosh, Claire, I finished my Nancy Lee Chong applique when I took the class. It was one of Quilt University classes I finished. Loved it. I also love your monkey fabric.

  5. Very cute. I love anything monkey. Thanks for linking up today.

  6. Dana

    That monkey fabric is adorable! I’m getting more and more into applique, there’s just so much you can do with it.

  7. Monkey quilt is adorable. I resist hand sewing at all cost. If I can figure out how to do it on the machine, it is a great day. I may do some when I retire or in the next life time.
    Aileen in FL

  8. How cute! Good luck with the applique. I learned the basics in my introductory quilt class. I enjoy it and find it therapeutic, just as in sewing the binding on a quilt.

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

