and the winner is…

The winner of the musical instrument charm pack is Lynn of ThisQuiltingMama Blog. Congratulations.

And in between browsing 178 blogs (quite fun) I did get some sewing done.  I like to try new tools so bought some “Tiger Tape” to mark half square triangles.Where I will really appreciate it is when using two dark fabrics.

Tiger Tape

Experimenting

I don’t think it increased accuracy or saved time over marking with pen. Of course I have a fine point pen so the line I draw is narrow. The advertisement said it was reusable, and I did use each piece 12 times; I may have been able to squeeze a few more uses out of it, but I had finished my HSTs.

There is so much that doesn’t feel like progress.  Like trimming those HSTs.

Trimming HSTs

Are we there yet?

But I do like to see those nice even square pieces.

Friendship star lined up

Now that feels like progress

I lined them up on my 15-inch square ruler (which doubles as a tray to get pieces from the ironing board to the sewing machine) and was ready to make blocks and then a strip. I found it liberating to learn that seams had to be pressed only before sewing a cross seam.  So I sewed the right side, then the left side, and then pressed.

Top two rows

Progress on the golf quilt

The six friendship-star blocks are the width (before borders) on the original plan.  I have a couple inches I can play with, and another new idea may make a lower row wider, so I am not sewing strips down the side of the flying geese till I see the final width.

I missed WIP Wednesday this week; come back to see how far I get by next Wednesday.

12/19/12 I didn’t get much farther.  Design change–one row of flying geese will have green “sky.” More cut. More preliminary seams.  On to next week.

2 Comments

Filed under quilting

2 responses to “and the winner is…

  1. Hey.. this is a great quilt, and I just found out a friend is a new grandma. Can I borrow this idea and make her a baby quilt like this?

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

