A Blog Hop Party and Give Away

Blog Hop Party with Give-Aways

I’m helping Michelle Foster celebrate Quilting Gallery’s fifth birthday by offering a packet of 35 musical-instrument-themed charms. Just leave a comment to this post by December 15, 2012. Tell me how long you have been quilting (or maybe you just like to look at quilts–that’s fine too; we need appreciative audiences) and/or your favorite type of quilting. Sometime on the 16th, I’ll draw a number and the corresponding numbered comment will win the charms. This offer is open to people in the US and other countries. Check back after the 16th to see who won. And if you are the winner, send me your mailing address.

Welcome to regular readers and to new visitors. If you are new, feel free to browse my blog a bit. You can see I write about many topics, but you can also see that quilting posts are among my more frequent entries.  You’ll give me warm fuzzies if you comment on older posts, but only comments to this post will be entered in the drawing.

From December 10-15, 2012,  click the link above to find a list of other Birthday giveaway blogs and what they are offering. And pause to enjoy browsing the quilting gallery blog.  My favorite thing is the themed virtual quilting contests! I entered once, but I rarely have a quilt finished that fits the criteria. I enjoy looking at quilts, and I find I look differently when I know I’ll be voting. How about you?

Thanks for visiting.  If you want to know when there is something new to read, sign up for email notifications.

132 Comments

Filed under quilting

132 responses to “A Blog Hop Party and Give Away

  1. dezertsuz

    Hi! I’ve been quilting for over 45 years! Can you believe it? The quilting itself, either by hand or by longarm, is my favorite part, but I enjoy the piecing and applique, too. I pay someone else to do my bindings! If I could pick only one part, though, it would be the quilting.

  2. quilt32

    I’ve been quilting for 10 years (started at age 70) and do everything with my Bernina except for hand stitching the binding. I like piecing the best.

    • Way to go! I remember when I was pondering a return to college and said to a friend, “I’d be 50 when I graduate if I do.” Her reply, “You’ll be 50 if you don’t too.”

  3. Good morning! My quilting began making patchwork quilts out of old denim jeans. Not really quilting per se, but it did teach me to line up seams properly. My favorite type of quilting is free motion – I love Angela Walter’s books and classes, and enjoy the opportunity to use those motifs whenever I can!

  4. Heather

    One of my favorite things is to use precuts. I have two small ones and my time is limited so the precuts makes it so much easier for me to accomplish things

  5. I’ve been quilting on and off for over 40 years…..wow….my favorite part is the free motion quilting, to me it makes the quilt come alive. Thanks for a wonderful giveaway!

  6. I have been quilting for 45 years and I really like doing stack-n-whacks

  7. Bea

    8 yrs… long arm for 4 i think

  8. I’ve only been ‘quilting’ in the real sense of the word for about 2-3 years. Great stuff. Thanks for a chance to win.

  9. hueisei

    I am new to quilting. I think around 2 years 😀

  10. Thank you all for visiting–drop by again!

  11. Faye

    I’ve been quilting for about 4 years… but I’m slow, so that only equates to a handfull of quilts!

  12. Maria do Carmo

    Não quilting,pago para fazer.Sou boa em costura a mão.Estou fazendo esposa fazendeiro em papel inglês.Obrigada por abrir internacional.12 anos as voltas com tecidos,máquinas e agulhas.Tesouras…que seria de mim sem elas..??
    tiacarminhapezzuto@gmail.com

  13. katie

    I grew up in a quilty home so i can’t remember ever not participating in the quilting/sewing. I got my very own sewing machine as a college graduation gift and kept on when i moved away and started a family of my own.

  14. I have been quilting for 8 years…got about 80 more to go…

  15. I have been quilting since 1992. I just love easy pieced simple quilts. I also enjoy mystery quilts but I will never be good at appliquing or paper-piecing. I am hoping you will meet new friends that will also become followers. Wishing you a very merry Christmas. Thank you for giving all of us a chance to win those fabulous musical instrument-themed charms. What a darling quilt that would make my niece.

    Sandi T.
    Sonora, CA
    sandit1@sbcglobal.net

  16. buntyw

    I’ve been quilting for nearly 20 years!
    gillwatson at mailbox dot co dot uk

  17. Three years and a bit – and loving ever minute of it!!! Cheers for the chance!!! amycav at hotmail dot com

  18. Hanke Fijnvandraat

    I have been quilting for three years and love it!
    thanks for the give away!

  19. Joyce Mitchell

    I have been quilting for 6 years & love it. I like both traditional & modern quilts. Thanks for the chance to win.

  20. ive been quilting about 6 years off and on,

  21. I’ve been quilting for 14 years…thanks for the chance!

  22. jbawsew

    I started quilting about 20 years ago. I mainly do pictorial paper piecing. Have also stepped out of my comfort zone and have tried applique. Thank you for the great giveaway.
    jbechosend at sbcglobal dot net

  23. Kate

    I’m a newbie quilter – I just started earlier this year!

  24. I’ve been sewing for 25 years (off and on). I quilt once in a while when I see or think up something to make. I’m working on my 3rd.

  25. Jenelle Boxberger

    Thanks for being part of the blog hop. I started quilting about 9 years ago when I found out I was going to be a grandma. Saddly the baby only lived for a few minutes, but the quilt is treasured by my daughter.

  26. patty

    I have been sewing garment since junior high in the 70’s and picked up quilting later on after I was married and a quilt shop came to town and offered lessons. I loved it ever since.

  27. I started quilting in 1976 – before they had all the great magazines, wonderful blogs and terrific tools.

    • Before rotary cutters and mats! How I struggled with scissors and templates and hand stitching. I took a break and was delighted with the new tools when I returned to quilting!

  28. I’ve been quilting for about 9 months now. I’ve sewn for longer but it wasn’t until last April that I finally sat down and started trying to quilt. I’ve fallen in love with it since. Thanks for the giveaway!

  29. Bonnie Larson

    I’ve been quilting for about 5 years now. Thanks for the opportunity on a great prize and have a very Merry Christmas. bonnielarson58@gmail.com.

  30. Joyce Carter

    I have been quilting off and on for about 20 years. I love to sew and I started out just sewing the tops. I really love doing this. The whole process of making a quilt is so fascinating to me–You can take fabric that isn’t very pretty and cut it up, then sew it back together and make a beautiful quilt.I love quilts and I could look at them for hours at a time.
    Thank you for the giveaway.

  31. Heather

    I’ve been quilting for 8 years. Love it.

  32. Rebecca T

    I’ve been sewing since I was 5 – but quilting has been a newer thing. Six years; and I’m almost done with my first quilt!!

  33. Donna

    I’m just starting to plan a quilt for the first time- scary! I love landscape quilts.

  34. I just started appreciating quilts about 3 years ago. My boss lady at work is a super crafter and quilting is one of her crafts. She taught me how to look at them and very kindly guided me through helping out on a group quilt project. I tried it myself, but it just wasn’t for me; though I am new to sewing, maybe it’s just not my bag YET 😉

  35. Barbara Orozco

    I’ve been quilting for 4 years, but sewing for about 25 years. I always appreciate good tutorials and pictures of finished quilts.
    I’ll probably never enter a quilt contest, because I don’t have the time to finish such a precise quilt. 🙂

    • I’ve gotten shy about contests and challenges too. At first I only thought of visual design and how it fit the theme of the challenge. Then I learned what judges look for. Oh my…

  36. I’ve been quilting 20 yrs this year – started at the age of 26 – so I still get some flack from the veterans that I’m too young to have that much experience – LOL!! I started by getting a book by mistake – and I never did send that back!

  37. I have been quilting on and off since I was 13 years old. Mostly during that time, I was raising kids and working regular hours, so I didn’t get much done. This summer, I started again in earnest. After all, my kids have graduated and it’s just me and my husband and my teaching career. I have more free time! Thank you for the chance to win.

  38. Deb

    I’ve been quilting for about 12 years. My Mom showed me her rotary cutter, ruler and mat and I was sold. I’d had a miserable experience in high school hand cutting for a log cabin quilt and vowed never again! Thanks for a great giveaway!

  39. The first quilts I made were between 25 and 30 years ago. They were basic sqares made out of leftover fleece fabric scraps that my mom bought at a sale at a manufacturing plant in huge bags. And then for many years I never tried it again. But now I am back at it trying a few things with quilting. I am definitely a newbie and want to learrn to be a pro.
    conn_and_vans_mom(at)yahoo(dot)com

  40. bee

    i’ve been quilting for about 10 years.

  41. I’ve been quilting for about 8 years now althought it doesn’t seem that long!

  42. I started in earnest in late 2009 after surgery and not returning to my job. I love simple pieced baby/child quilts b/c they come together so fast and don;t join the UFO pile. thank you for the giveaway.

  43. I’ve been quilting about 18 years. I prefer traditional quilting. I have eclectic taste in fabric. Thanks for the great giveaway! Merry Christmas!

  44. I really just began! When I was 11 I did a very basic Quilt-In-A-Day one, but nothing since till the little doll quilt I just finished for my tiny daughter for Christmas! (here: http://craftyhour.com/?p=240)

    Thanks for the chance and Merry Christmas!

  45. i made my first quilt in 1976.

  46. I have been sewing since I was in 4-H as a kid! To many years:)

  47. Kathy Garringer

    I’ve been quilting for 20 years. I love art quilts and have a long arm.

  48. I started quilting almost 10 years but it has been an off and on hobby.

  49. KeriAnn

    I just learned how to sew/quilt in October, and I absolutely LOVE it!

  50. I have been quilting for 20 years. I only make small projects and simple quilting, but I love it 🙂

  51. I started quilting back in 2010. My first quilt was for my mother who passed away 6 months after I gave it to her. I kinda went on a long vacation from doing anything until recently when I started back quilting.

  52. patty d

    I’ve been quliting for over 15 years.

  53. Eva

    I have been quilting for about 30 years, applique is what I like and do best.

  54. started quilting last year thanks

  55. I am a beginner quilter. I love fabrics and threads. hugs

  56. Vicki H

    I started quilting by taking a class at the local WalMart taught by the fabric dept manager. That was in 1990. Some years not so much quilting, but I have been back at it strong this year.

  57. Sheila

    It’s about nine years I’ve been hooked, and my favorite part is piecing quilt tops….thanks for the chance to win!!

  58. I’ve been quilting just over 25 years now….love it. My mother-in-law taught me. Now I make and sell them

  59. EngrSandi

    I have been quilting just about 20 years. I started shortly after getting married. I mostly do traditional quilts, but am loving the modern prints.

  60. I made my first quilt 30+ years ago, but it was about 20 years ago when the bug bit me. I wish I knew how many quilts I’ve made in those years. Thanks for participating in the blog hop party.

  61. Rina

    I started quilting over 40 years ago and love everything about it except having to get out the seam ripper. What I most appreciate about it now is the amazing fabric selections available, being able to cut fabric with a rotary cutter and quilting by machine. So much has changed since I began quilting but the end results always remain the same,a quilt that someone loves.

  62. Beth

    I did some hand quilting about 20 years ago, and then started machine quilting about five years ago. I still consider myself a bit of a novice, but I am having fun!

  63. I started quilting almost 2 years ago. I’m loving it.

  64. Debby

    I learned how to quilt in my later 20’s and here I am in my later 50’s and loving it more than ever!! Thanks for the chance to win.

  65. Kay Lemieux

    I have been quilting for just over a year now, and I love it!

    ktreve (at) hotmail (dot) com

  66. Mom C

    I’ve been tying quilts all my life but I started piecing, machine quilting and thinking of myself as a quilter for about 4 years. I sewed all my children’s clothes and made whole cloth quilts along the way, dabbled in all handiwork and finally, I’ve found something that brings me more joy than anything else I’ve ever done. I love everything about quilting. It’s so freeing. Thanks.

  67. Tanya

    I only started quilting about 6 months ago. Thanks for chance to win.

  68. I started sewing for my dolls when I was four. Of course they needed quilts. I only piece and quilt by hand so I am not very prolific. I love to check out the Quilting Gallery themed contests and pick the ones that inspire me. Blogging had certainly changed my view of quilting.

  69. RoseMary

    I now follow you, can you share about the Process Pledge, I could not open it. I agree with your comment about quilting, it is freeing and no telling what your mind can come up with. Thank you

  70. I started sewing in 1966 at the age of 6 but didn’t make a quilt until about 1992. I’v ben hooked ever since.

  71. Cheri

    I started quilting about 30 years ago and did mostly applique theme (now I have trouble finding things to applique!) and then life happened and I just did sewing and last year…I started quilting again and made t-shirt quilts for my 2 grand daughters and haven’t stopped since!
    Thanks for the chance!
    Cheri
    quiltingnanny(at)yahoo(dot)com
    (or the Google one!)

  72. Kess

    I mostly paper piece. I’ve been quilting on and off for the past 15 years or so. Thanks for the giveaway!

  73. I´ve been quilting for 7 years now! I do a lot of handpiecing 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  74. I have been quilting for 18 years and am a 4th generation quilter. Thanks for the opportunity!

  75. lindawwww

    I’ve been quilting for about 30 years and my favourite technique is hand applique

  76. I’ve been quilting for about eight years – it sure doesn’t feel like that long! Thanks for the giveaway. I’d love to win musical charms!

  77. Brenda Hulsey

    I’ve been quilting off and on for about 30 years!
    hulseybg at gmail dot com

  78. Have been sewing for over fifty years and now I am teaching sewing and crocheting to my sixth graders. I have 23 in my class so it is so busy. After Christmas I am planning to have them make a patchwork placemat.

  79. Lori Morton

    Have sewn for years, but only been doin’ Quilting for lil’ over a year now.

    Thanks for chance to win your Drawing! 🙂

  80. Jan

    I’ve been sewing for about 48 years and quilting off and on for about 20 years.

  81. I started quilting 10 years ago as therapy and love it. Both of my son’s majored in music so these fabrics would be perfect to make them quilted gifts.

  82. faith marsden

    Ive been quilting on and off for twenty years gosh and not many quilts finished (naughty me) but I hope to sort this out in 2013.
    Please do enter me in your fabulous giveawayx

    acrylicss@aol.com

  83. Mhairi

    I started quilting at the age of 12 by making a hexagon pillow – that has since disappeared. I loved sewing and this was a natural progression especially with an aunt who loves to quilt.

  84. I’ve been sewing over 50 years. My mom taught me when I was 5. I love passing on the skills to my daughters and members of our Guide unit.

  85. kathy h

    I have been quilting for about 20+ years. I enjoy piecing the most and usually quilt by machine. I want to learn hand quilting but since it takes so much longer, i don’t know if i will be patient enough!

  86. Carla G

    I just started quilting this year. And I’m still learning lots!!! However, I’ve been sewing clothing and bags for the past 5ish years. Thanks for a chance to win! I’ve been collecting music fabric over the years with plans to make myself a music quilt one day. 🙂

  87. vicki seals

    I am pretty new at quilting, just been at it for a couple of years. I would love some more fabric. 🙂 thanks for the giveaway. I am a follower , merry christmas

    • Jane S.

      I’ve been messing around with quilty stuff for probably 25 years now. I’m more of a hand quilter, if I want something machine quilted I have someone else do it! I do like hand sewing the binding though. I find it relaxing and it just looks and feels so nice. 🙂

  88. Helen

    Wow, I’m impressed! This is inspiring.

  89. bonnie

    I learned from my mother and grand mothers when I was small but as a teen I wanted nothing to do with this stuff.. In my 20s I made a quilt for my husband all by myself and was not that pleased with the results.. so for years it was just my Mom doing the quilting.. she got cancer and when I went to take care of her I helped with the quilts she wanted to finish.. when she passed I took over being the quilt maker for charity in her honor

  90. Sue

    I started quilting in the mid to late ’70’s when my kids were little. I had taken lots of classes at Stretch and Sew(remember them?) and they offered a Quilt in a Day class by Eleanor Burns. I was hooked from the very first!

  91. Val

    I have been quilting for about 3 years and I just love applique quilts.

  92. I started quilting in a blizzard in early 1996. Been at it ever since.

  93. I am a newbie quilter… only 18 months or so… but I love it and am finding that I am loving it the more i learn about it, and the diversity of quilting/patchwork styles! its a fabulous hobby that I would suggest to anyone to keep them busy x

  94. I have been quilting for over 20 years. Thanks for the giveaway.

  95. I’ve been quilting on and off for about 18 years…. but only within the last few years has the bug really bitten me and I am totally intrigued by fabrics and patterns and processes. I try all types of methods. Thank you for the generous offer 🙂

  96. I’ve been quilting for almost two years. I can’t believe it’s been that long already. It’s been a fun journey. 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win!

  97. I’ve been quilting for over 30 years and love piecing! pbstrand@msn.com

  98. nancy mcmahan

    I have been quilting for a number of years but seriously for only a few years. I machine quilt except for binding when I don’t use a border. thanks for the giveaway

  99. annmarie

    I’ve been quilting since I retired 8 years ago. I like all kinds of quilting EXCEPT hand quilting!!! I’d have to say paper piecing is my favorite method because it is so precise. thanks for the chance to win a charm pack & Merry Christmas.

  100. Nancysue

    I’ve only been quilting since my son was born in 2007. I had to stay up nights with him when he was an infant, and I’d watch quilting on youtube and got hooked!!! Now working out the time management thing, I have to admit I read more about quilting than actually quilting.

  101. Quilting 1 year this month.

  102. Probably learned to quilt about 10 years ago, but have gone back into dressmaking and alterations to make some added income. thanks for the giveaway.

  103. cnuland

    I’m still in the stalking-quilting-blogs stage hoping I can find time soon (I have a toddler) to dive in and try my first quilt.

  104. Kay

    I only started quilting this year and my favourite thing to do is hexies using EPP, I am also very fond of dresden plates. Thank you for a lovely giveaway.

  105. I like free motion quilting. Started quilting about 5 years ago. But have been sewing for over 45 years.

  106. Shirlu Kelly

    I love everything about quilting. The cutting, piecing, quilting, etc. Still need practice on the cutting part, though. I love to see finished product and know that i did it all myself.

  107. MaryLou

    Have been quilting for about 25 years or more – use to sew clothes but found that quilting is so much more fun..
    Thanks for the super nice giveaway..
    MaryLou
    Fun4Me1249@aol.com

  108. Sue

    I have been quilting for 9 years. Never expected to get so addicted.

  109. Sue

    i’ve been quilting for about 2 yrs. Still have so much to learn.
    Susie
    legato1958@aol.com

  110. Usha

    I have yet to learn quilting but it is one of my to do list for 2013…in the interim, I love browsing through all quilting blog just to feast my eyes…I am a new follower and know that I am going to enjoy reading your blog.

    Thanks for the wonderful and generous giveaway.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. May the coming year bless you and your family with everything that your heart desires.

    Usha
    usharaneem@yahoo.com

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

