An interesting story of a childhood adventure and skillful redirecting by the mom

For those who can't afford free speech

By Melissa Favara, Contributing Columnist

Forty-five minutes into the English Department subcommittee meeting on drafting a grading rubric for the English 101 final essay assignment, I folded up my notebook and made an announcement to my colleagues: “I’m sorry, but I have to go paint a ceramic owl.”

My colleagues on this committee are all non-breeders; most are younger than me and have great shoes, hip eyewear and are lovely people. They were accepting, if disappointed in my bailing early. I shrugged and said simply, “I chose to reproduce.”

View original post 1,057 more words

1 Comment

Filed under creativity

One response to “

  1. quilt32

    As a mother of four, grandmother of 6 and great-grandmother of 2, I enjoyed reading this.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

