Trying the new Curves for Squares ruler

Back in July at the Sisters, Oregon Outdoor quilt show I heard a lecture by Karla Alexander . Her listed topic was about using scraps; however, from the way she described her stash, she buys only fat quarters, so it is more about getting a scrappy look.  She buys near colors and uses them quite well. Most of the quilts she showed had also employed a couple rulers she has designed, rulers that create an interesting variation on old patterns.

So I bought one, Curves for Squares. I am finally getting to experiment with it. I have a dozen squares made and am debating on which layout to use.

Nine patch layout

Nine-patch layout

Straight-furrows layout

Straight-furrows layout

Streak of lightning layout

Streak-of-Lightning Layout

Yes, the layout choices are similar to choices for using log-cabin blocks. I think the curves show off better in the longer lines, but I think the Streak of Lightning is more interesting.

I still need to get fabrics for borders; first I’ll dig in my stash, but I don’t think I have what I want. I’m thinking narrow red, wider green, wider still yellow then binding in red. We’ll see.

7 Comments

Filed under design, quilting

7 responses to “Trying the new Curves for Squares ruler

  1. quilt32

    I do like the Streak-of-Lightning. I’ll be interested to see what you do with these blocks.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  2. dezertsuz

    That is the coolest effect! I will have to look for one of those rulers.

    • If you get a ruler, her directions say to draw a line the opposite way of the cut and then snip outside the seam; I didn’t draw a whole line, just marked the registration point with pencil and didn’t snip.

      Lillian, I’ve decided definitely to do Streak of Lightning. And I see I can’t count. I have 20 squares done. And I have cut four more so I can finish the bottom zigzag.

      BTW, I cut 6-inch squares.

  3. That creates a unique block! Thanks for sharing.

  4. I like the streak of lightening, too. The curve is very subtle, isn’t it? 🙂

    • I had remembered more curve than I got, Denise. I think it may be two things: her squares may have been larger for one. The other is that her colors gave more contrast. Check out her “Argyle” in her gallery.

  5. Pingback: Quilt Finished and Delivered | knitNkwilt

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

