Lan Su Chinese Garden in February

I am planning to go monthly to see changes, but may have to make that every two weeks; many buds in bloom with a forecast of blooming in two weeks.

I don’t know what this one will become, but it looks close.

This one is fuzzy enough to be a pussy willow; I will wait and see.

There were more in full bloom than I expected, and there is one I guess I missed, wintersweet. It was due in January and I’d been there last at the end of December. I didn’t think I would need to rush back in winter.

It is interesting how different the tour is with a different guide.  Each focuses on what interests them. Oh there is a ball park similarity, but the details vary quite a bit.

This guide was interested in writing and I learned that poetry came in couplets–at least one form.  The characters were on plaques on either side of an archway, one for each line.  Words paired had to be the same part of speech and had to have some relation to the other. For example the first word in the one he explained was “one” on one side and “millions” on the other–both numbers and both opposites; also opposites were “spring” and “winter.” “Flower” and “tree were also paired.”

The wind was quiet so the reflections were good today. The stone to the left is from Lake Tai (I think I spelled it correctly); water currents and soft stone combine to make the sculpture effect.  There were lots of small gold fish, but the only one you can see is the big one.

Since this is the year of the dragon they have a scavenger hunt for the children.  These cute stuffed dragons are placed throughout the garden for children to find.

I have just learned that there is a plant walk every Tuesday afternoon. that way maybe I will be able to say more than red flower, etc.  But for now, the color identification will have to do. I picked up a brochure about the flowers, but the ones I got photos of, except the camilia, were not included. And I have one more photo of the Lake Tai stones.

 

      

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under nature

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

