Purple and Yellow block lotto

Variable star

I make quilt blocks, tops, and whole quilts (sometimes regularly, and sometimes sporadically) for Sunshine (link to lower right). It has been a long time since I have made any lotto blocks–other things intruded, like packing, moving, and unpacking, and and and…

Anyway, August colors were purple and yellow, and I had some appropriate fabric near the top. Besides the required colors, I also had a print from the stash of Bev, the leading cheerleader and quilter and list mom who died within the last year, and the center of the star seemed a good place to feature her print. In memory of Bev quilts just keep coming as various members use up her stash. (If I haven’t used up my stash by the time I die, I hope it finds a group as eager to use it up!)

The block has several names, two I can remember: variable star and sawtooth star.  Many traditional blocks have more than one name. Sometimes the name varies with the color arrangement and sometimes just with the geographic area where the quilt was made.

Block Lotto means blocks are submitted in pairs, one stays for the charity and one goes into a “pot.” Then two things can happen.  You can send in your blocks and be finished with the project or you can get the batch.  This time I get the batch, all 28 of them.

Can’t wait to play with them!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under quilting

3 responses to “Purple and Yellow block lotto

  1. I have been thinking about taking up quilting. Do you have any advice for someone who is looking to start?

    • There are two approaches: buy a book and follow instructions is one. I started with an old one that is probably still available or at least available through a library: Marguerite Ickis’s The Standard Book of Quilt Making and Collecting, a Dover Publications reprint. I think a generalized ‘how to’ such as this one helps you evolve into a more independent quilter than buying a book about how to make a particular pattern.

      The second approach is to take a class. Usually these can be found by going to a local quilt store and inquiring about classes. Again I would recommend a general ‘how to quilt’ vs ‘how to make pattern a or b.’

  2. Pingback: The quilt blocks arrived! | knitNkwilt

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

