Poky Puppy

Front, size 60 x 60

Today I put the finishing touches on this quilt for a friend’s almost 2-year old.  I was so tickled to see that Quilting Treasures offered the print. Poky Puppy was one of my favorite stories as a child, back when it was one of the original 12 or 13  Little Golden Books. The panel that became the quilt top was meant to be a book.  I also purchased the companion fabric.  Plan A was to make the book and fussy cut the puppies from the companion fabric for the front.

Back. Size 60 x 60

But the way they were positioned in the design, fussy cutting would have been wasteful.  So I decided on using it for the back.  Since I’d not planned it for backing, I didn’t have enough and had to piece, but that gave me a place to use pieces that hadn’t fit on the front. Below are some detail shots

Cover block detail

Inside the ‘book’

I am new to machine quilting but am enjoying the process.  My first plan was to use blue since there was so much sky in the blocks.  However, I realized that blue would look odd when stitched across a puppy face on the backing, so I used a light peach that blended everywhere except on the dark backing.  I finished the quilting last week and the binding today. Delivery is tomorrow.

4/3/15  A story book used in a quilt instead of making a book isn’t quite a panel, but uses some of the same ideas, so I’ll like with Tuesday Archives  (late). Button in side bar.

11 Comments

Filed under design, quilting

11 responses to “Poky Puppy

  1. Jean

    He is sooo cute! I’m glad you put it on. I read that to GKs.

  2. I loved that book too. Very nice quilt and your quilting looks great.

  3. Janetta

    Nice one!

  4. Jody

    Claire, GOOD going gf! I am sure the child will absolutely adore it!

  5. Karen

    I love the quilt, and loved the book. Great use of the “book” fabric.

  6. Michele McCullough

    That’s so cute Claire!

  7. Anne

    It is gorgeous. I haven’t read the book but the pups are adorable. I love your idea for the back.

  8. terri414cb

    You brought back happy memories of Little Golden Books! I think your quilt is adorable and any child would love to have all those adorable fabrics on their quilt.

  9. I use to collect the Golden Books for my daughters when they were young. They sure aren’t 50 cents anymore are they…but their stories are priceless. I love this quilt Claire, esp. because sometimes I see a panel I love but then don’t know how to make it a little bit more special like you did here. You’ve inpspired me to look at panels in a new way! (Oh and thanks for adding the linky button to your blog…woot woo!!!)

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.

