Last 5 Weather Blocks

I guess it is time to get with the program and finish off this 2016 project. So here are blocks for August-December

weather-aug-dec

These are ready to put with January – July, blocks that have been patiently waiting. (If you click back to the early post you will have to scroll way down to get to the weather update.)

October . . .

weather-oct-2017

. . . I think it is safe to say, was the most boring month! If I had divided temperatures into groups of 5 instead of 10, I’d have been able to switch out only 7 of the grass green squares.

The design definitely works out best in a strip setting instead of monthly setting, as you can see from the others in the Facebook group. But I had to try. The image in my head was of calendar dish towels.

I’m aiming for 50 x 70 for the AIDS camp that I make several quilts for; here’s hoping one of the participants is a weather geek. I’m thinking of 1-inch strips between months and a narrow border on the right. On the left a wider border with the key to the temperatures. In keeping with the dish towel look, the top border will have “2017.” And the bottom “Portland Highs.”  So now to make the letters and numbers.

I didn’t get to use red for 100s or purple for 20s. I’d have been able to use the latter for this January–at least three days, so cold does happen here. Hot not so much.  I’m pondering using them for the letters and numbers and/or binding.

ETA: Linking with Moving it Forward Monday–button in sidebar.

4 Comments

Filed under design, quilting

4 responses to “Last 5 Weather Blocks

  1. At least now you have definitive data! If you’d tried to finish at the end of last year, there’d have been a couple of dubious dates. I do love the concept of this quilt, but as I’m a bar chart fan, I’d probably have done mine that way…

  2. Sounds like a good idea to use the seldom used temp. colors for the lettering and borders – just not green? Interesting project.

  3. What a cool idea for a quilt themed Claire!

  4. This is a fun project. I look forward to seeing the finished quilt 🙂

Conversation is good, so please join in. I'll reply here if it seems relevant to others, by email, or by visiting your blog.