Block Play

I got the block lotto winnings out. It has been a long time, but I think I won them two months in a row. They didn’t immediately fall into clear groupings, so I put them away to mix with older stragglers later. Well, it is much later. It’s that out-of-sight-out-of-mind thing again.

What prompted this flurry of activity was reading about the Soy Amado project at Little Island Quilting. The idea of quilting 12.5 inch blocks appealed to me for practice with various Free Motion Quilting designs. I knew there would be some orphans after I’d made combinations from the lotto blocks, and thought they would be good candidates. So to find out which blocks were orphans, I had to see which blocks I could combine.

So far I have these four grouped together. One needs two more blocks, all need about 3-inch borders. I considered putting the hearts on point, but rather like them with the other five that have similar colors. I think the hearts look okay on their sides.

I can sew another day, but I know I’ll be more likely to sew now that they are grouped.

Linking up with WIP Wednesday and Needle and Thread Thursday (links in the sidebar).

8 Comments

Filed under quilting

8 responses to “Block Play

  1. Oh my gosh, I love the heart blocks. That is super cute!

  2. Wow what an amazing collection of pretty blocks! AMAZING you would like them to be part of the block drive for Soy Amado. You are such a kind person!!!
    Esther

  3. Very cool! I’ve never won a set like that. Seems like it would be fun indeed!

  4. That is a great idea to use up orphan blocks, practice FMQ and donate to a good cause! I sent one block, which I think has been sewn into a quilt and delivered to Mexico City already. I know your blocks will be very appreciated and loved.

  5. dezertsuz

    I like the hearts that way. Is this a lotto thing from your quilt guild?

  6. Those hearts caught my eyes as well. Cool block! Also thanks for your nice comment on my blog.

  7. beautiful blocks, Claire! love the hearts!

    Thanks so much for linking up to Needle and Thread Thursday!
    :) Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Share your thoughts

